Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Seaweed Specimen Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Seaweed Specimen Book
Dates: circa 1970?
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Bound scrapbook containing pressed specimens of various types of seaweed, most with Latin names written underneath. Also includes clipping of two articles on the subject.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the creator of this book of seaweed specimens. The clipping is dated 1976, but the handwriting and the style of the scrapbook suggest an earlier date.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Seaweed Specimen Book consists of a single scrapbook, containing specimens of a wide range of marine algae. The specimens were carefully pressed and attached to cards, which were then affixed to the pages of the scrapbook. In many cases the Latin name of the plant is included below it; for example, the first is labelled "Collithaminon Ptilophora" which may be an older, or slightly misspelled, version of Callithamnion ptilophora. No information is given as to where or when the specimens were collected.

There are also two articles on the subject dating from the mid-1970s.


Arrangement of the Collection

The specimens are in no discernible order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Algae -- Type specimens.
Botanical specimens.
Marine algae -- Type specimens.

Genres and Forms

Scrapbooks.
Specimens.

Occupations

Marine biologists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Seaweed Specimen Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 2000.


Table of Contents

Specimen book


Inventory

Specimen book
SC 584 Seaweed - accompanied by two articles on the subject of mosses and algae