Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ralph W. Seager Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Feb 1967

Revision history:
17 Sep 2007 converted to EAD (JPK)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Seager, Ralph W.
Title: Ralph W. Seager Papers
Dates: 1954-2008
Quantity: 6.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet from Penn Yan, New York (1911-2008). Correspondence (1955-1966); book manuscripts and galley proofs; notebooks; clippings, and photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ralph W. Seager (1911-2008) was born in Geneva, New York an November 3, 1911. He graduated from Penn Yan Academy in 1928 and studied verse through a University of California extension course from 1950-1951. He also studied verse at the University of New Hampshire Writer's Conference in 1954. Since 1938, he has served as a postal clerk in Penn Yan and since 1960 he has been teaching creative verse writing at Keuka College. During World War II, he served in the South Pacific with the United States Navy.

Mr. Seager is the author of four books of verse; Songs from a Willow Whistle, Beyond the Green Gate, Christmas Chimes in Rhyme, and Cup, Flagon and Fountain. His poems appear frequently in national magazines and he is also the author of Sound of an Echo, a book of prose.

Mr. and Mrs. Seager had three sons. Mr. Seager resides in Penn Yan, NY.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ralph W. Seager Papers include biographical material, correspondence, manuscripts, galley proofs, photographs and published material. This collection also contains a number of unprocessed additions.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing correspondence. (See also: Subject Files).

Subject Files includes correspondence, manuscripts, galley proofs, photographs and published material arranged alphabetically by subject. It includes manuscripts of all of Mr. Seager's books as well as published copies of each book, correspondence, galley proofs and other material relating to their publication. Material covers the periods of 1954-1959 and 1961-1966.

Manuscripts consists of a manuscript of an article by Mr. Seager, a draft of an untitled poem, and a copy of a lecture. (See also: Subject Files).

Published Material consists of newspaper clippings, magazine articles by Mr. Seager, and a reprint of one of his poems. (See also: Subject Files). Inclusive Dates: 1954-1966, undated.

Additional material was added to the end of the collection on Feb 12 1968, and can be found in Box 6. Other material has been added since that has not yet been processed.


Arrangement of the Collection

The Ralph W. Seager Papers consist of four parts: Correspondence, Subject Files, Manuscripts, and Published Material. All items are arranged in alphabetical order according to subject matter or type of material (book, periodical, etc.)


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Seager, Ralph W.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.
Photographs.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ralph W. Seager Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject Files

Manuscripts

Published Material


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Editors A-Y 1955-1956
Box 1 Special assignments A-W 1957, 1961-1966
Box 6 Correspondence 1965, 1967
Subject Files
Box 1 Awards and publicity 1954-1959 1963-1966
Books
Box 2 Beyond the Green Gate 1957-1961, 1963-1964
Box 2 Cup, Flagon, and Fountain 1965-1966
Box 3 Christmas Chimes in Rhyme 1961-1964, 1966
Box 3 Songs from a Willow Whistle 1956-1957
Box 4 The Sound of an Echo
Box 4 Christian Author's Guild Party Course 1957-1961, 1965
Box 5 Conferences and workshops 1958-1966
Box 5 Lists: publications
Box 6 News release Feb 1 1967
Box 5, 6 Photographs of Seager n.d.
Manuscripts
Box 5 Article: "When is Poetry"
Box 6 Draft of poem, untitled n.d. (photocopy)
Box 6 Lecture: "The Poet Looks at Himself" 1963 (photocopy)
Published Material
Box 5 Article by Seager
Box 6 Newspaper clippings about Seager 1967
Periodicals
Box 6 The Christian Writer, Vol XIII, No. 1 Jan-Mar 1964
Box 6 Writer's Digest, Vol. 43, No. 10 Oct 1963
Box 6 Poem: "Wild Fire" 1967 - reprint