Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Albert Schweitzer Letter, "Cher Monsieur..."

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 May 2016

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Schweitzer, Albert, 1875-1965.
Title: Albert Schweitzer Letter, "Cher Monsieur..."
Dates: 1947
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from the German musician, physician and philanthropist to an unknown recipient.
Language: English, French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965) was a German theologian, philosopher, musician, musicologist, doctor, surgeon, and medical missionary. He is best known for his theological writings and for founding and sustaining the Albert Schweitzer Hospital in Lambaréné, now in Gabon, west central Africa.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Albert Schweitzer Letter, "Cher Monsieur..." consists of a single letter to an unknown recipient, evidently in the military. A Professor Skillings is mentioned. The letter is in French; a translation is included in the collection.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several collections related to Schweitzer, including the Albert Schweitzer Papers. For a complete list, please search our collections .


Subject Headings

Persons

Schweitzer, Albert, 1875-1965.
Skillings, Everett, 1873-1956.

Subjects

Music.
Musicians.
Organ (Musical instrument)
Organists.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Albert Schweitzer Letter, "Cher Monsieur...",
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lois Bradford, 2014.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 771 "Cher Monsieur..." Jul 1947 - includes English translation