Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George S. Schuyler Typescript

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 30 May 2007

Revision history:
25 Sep 2014 corrected SC number (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Schuyler, George S. (George Samuel), 1895-1977.
Title: George S. Schuyler Typescript
Dates: 1964
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Typescript of "A Fond Farewell to Carlo," about Carl Van Vechten
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George S. Schuyler (1895-1977) was a conservative African-American journalist, satirist, author and editor.

Carl Van Vechten (1880-1964) was an American writer and photographer and a patron of the Harlem Renaissance.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George S. Schuyler Typescript consists of a typewritten manuscript of Schuyler's "A Fond Farewell to Carlo," about Carl Van Vechten.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the George S. Schuyler Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Schuyler, George S. (George Samuel), 1895-1977.
Van Vechten, Carl, 1880-1964.

Associated Titles

A fond farewell to Carlo.

Genres and Forms

Typescripts.

Occupations

Writers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George S. Schuyler Typescript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1989.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 191 "A Fond Farewell to Carlo" 1964