Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nils Gustaf von Schoultz Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Schoultz, Nils Gustaf von, 1807-1838.
Title: Nils Gustaf von Schoultz Collection
Dates: 1949-1963
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Research notes of Carl Carmer, American historian, relating to Schoultz and his participation in the Battle of the Windmill, 1838.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nils Gustaf von Schoultz (1807-1838) was a Finnish-born Swedish national who helped lead the Battle of the Windmill during the Upper Canada Rebellion in 1838. After settling in New York in 1836 he became involved with a secretive organization known as the Hunters' Lodges, who were dedicated to the eviction of the British from North America. Von Schoultz was persuaded to assist them in their support of an attempted rebellion against British forces in Canada. Although he and his men, barricaded in a stone windmill, held the hamlet of Newport against British Loyalist for several days, they eventually were forced to surrender, and von Schoultz was court martialed and hung.

Carl Carmer (1893-1976) was an American author and historian. Many of his books deal with historical events in upstate New York, but his best known book was Stars Fell on Alabama (1934), about his experiences in the South in the early 1930s.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nils Gustaf von Schoultz Collection consists of research material amassed by Carl Carmer relating to Von Schoultz and the 1838 Battle of the Windmill. The collection includes correspondence between Carmer and various repositories, research notes, and photostat negatives of Canadian government documents. As Carmer was a historian and author of non-fiction, his ultimate goal may have been a book or article about von Schoultz.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is chronological. The research material is in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Carmer, Carl, 1893-1976.
Schoultz, Nils Gustaf von, 1807-1838.

Subjects

Windmill, Battle of the, Ont., 1838.

Places

Ontario -- History.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Research notes.

Occupations

Historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nils Gustaf von Schoultz Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1964.


Table of Contents

Subject files


Inventory

Subject files
SC 654, Folder 1 Correspondence 1949-1963
SC 654, Folder 1 Research material