Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John and George Sawyer Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 18 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sawyer, John.
Title: John and George Sawyer Papers
Dates: 1820-1901
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence, authorizations to preach in Methodist Episcopal Church, other documents.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Sawyer was a prominent minister in the Methodist Episcopal Church in New York State. His son Azariah H. Sawyer became a judge. The relationship of George Sawyer to John Sawyer is uncertain. The items relating to John are dated earlier; George's father's name was Manasseh so perhaps John was an elder brother or other relative.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John and George Sawyer Papers consists of correspondence and a number of authorizations, in the names of each man, to preach in the Methodist Episcopal Church. There are also a few miscellaneous other items, such as a subscription form for a seminary.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sawyer, George.
Sawyer, John.

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Episcopal Church -- Clergy.
Methodist Episcopal Church -- New York (State)

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John and George Sawyer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer, 1967.


Table of Contents

Church-related documents


Inventory

Church-related documents
SC 651 Authorizations to preach, seminary subscriptions, miscellaneous 1820-1901