Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

George Brandon Saul Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 26 April 1966



Biographical History

George Brandon Saul, Ph.D., is an American educator, author and composer of music. He was born in Shoemakersville, Pennsylvania, Nov 1, 1901, the son of Daniel Brandon and Mary E. Stamm Saul, and attended the University of Pennsylvania, receiving his B.A. in 1921, M.A. in 1930, and Ph.D. in 1932. A member of the English faculty of the University of Connecticut since 1924, Mr. Saul has been a full professor there since 1942. Since 1956 Dr. Saul has served as a technical writing consultant for Pratt & Whitney Aircraft. Dr. Saul resides at 4 Gilbert Road, Storrs, Connecticut. He spent a sabbatical year (1966-1967) in Ireland doing research on modern Irish literature.

Mr. Saul is the author of plays, short stories, articles and book reviews, and the composer of musical compositions and songs. His poems have appeared in numerous periodicals and anthologies. His pubiished works include The Cup of Sand, 1923; Bronze Woman, 1930; Unimagined Rose, 1937; Only Necessity, 1941; Selected Lyrics, 1947; October Sheaf, 1951; Major Types of English Literature, 1935; Hound and Unicorn, 1966; A.E. Coppard: His Life and His Poetry, 1932; The Elusive Stallion, 1947; Handbook of English Grammar and Writing Conventions, 1953; Stephens, Yeats and Other Irish Concerns, 1954; The Shadow of the Three Queens, 1953; Prolegomena to the Study of Yeat's Poems, 1957; Prolegomena to the Study of Yeats's Plays, 1958; Carved in Finduine, 1966; and The Wild Queen, 1967.

A member of the Poetry Society of America and the Modern Language Association, Mr. Saul lives in Storrs, Connecticut. He married his first wife, Dorothy M. Ayers, in 1925 and with her had one son, George Brandon II. After Dorothy's death 1937, Brandon married Eileen S. Lewis, with whom he had two children, Michael Brandon and Barbara Brigid.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Brandon Saul Papers consists of the original accession and two sets of additions which have not been integrated and are listed separately in the inventory below.

1966-1967 accessions

The main accession consists of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material. Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author (incoming) or chronoligically (outgoing). The Subject file, which is arranged alphabetically, consists of Dr. Saul's college course work and notes, photographs of himself and his faamily, and other related items. Dr. Saul's Manuscripts, arranged alphabetically by title, include articles, books, book reviews, essays, letters to editors, musical scores, plays, poems, short stories, and theses. Published material includes articles, books, book reviews, letters to editors, newspaper clippings, poems, programs, short stories, and theses. Additional material received in late 1966 and early 1967 has been integrated into the main collection and filed in the appropriate box/folder.

1968 additions

The 1968 additions to the George Brandon Saul Papers cover the years 1918, 1930-1931, and 1964-1968, and consist of two series. Correspondence, 1930-1931, 1964-1968, includes letters from friends, associates and publishers concerning the writing and publishing of works, the establishment of an Irish literature program in an American university and a sabbatical leave research trip to Ireland. Important correspondents include Homer Babbidge, 1964-1968; Padraic Colum, 1966; Ruth Hall, 1930-1931; Tony Knowland, 1966-1967; E'oin McKiernan, 1966-1968; and Mrs. Frank (Harriet) O'Connor, 1968. The letters are arranged chronologically, and there is an index to important correspondents on 3x5 slips in Box 1. Manuscript and published material, 1918, 1930, 1965-1968, includes a bibliogrpahy, book reviews, books, a monograph, musical compositions, a novella, and poems by Mr. Saul. Also included is a review of Mr. Saul's book, The Wild Queen. These writings are arranged alphabetically by type and alphabetically by title within each type.

1969 additions

The 1969 additions to the George Brandon Saul Papers cover the years 1920, 1935, 1937, and 1964-1969 and include correspondence, memorabilia, and writings. Correspondence, 1968-1969, including incoming and outgoing letters, is arranged chronologically. Memorabilia, 1920, consists of three high school notebooks, two for Latin and one for forestry. The bulk of the 1969 additions are Saul's Writings (1935, 1937, and 1964-1969). They are divided into six groups: book reviews, books, musical scores, a play, poems, and a radio broadcast. The book reviews are arranged alphabetically by the title of the book reviewed. Drafts and published copies of books, including books of folk tales and books of poetry, are arranged alphabetically by book title. The musical scores consist of three short pieces and, like the short poems, are arranged alphabetically. There is only one play and one radio broadcast script. Arrangement is alphabetical within each group; book reviews are arranged by the title of the book being reviewed.

Other additions

The collection also has one box containing multiple accessions from 1971, 1976 and 1979, which consists mostly of correspondence and printed material. This unprocessed material is not included in the inventory below and is available only by special permission.


Arrangement of the Collection

See Scope and content above. Note that since the three sets of material have not been integrated, box numbers are not unique. When requesting boxes, please specify the year in addition to the box number to ensure retrieval of the correct items.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, Morse S. (Morse Shepard), 1891-1967.
Colum, Padraic, 1881-1972.
Henn, T. R. (Thomas Rice), 1901-1974.
Maxwell, D. E. S. (Desmond Ernest Stewart), 1925-
Preminger, Alex.
Saul, George Brandon, 1901-
Stork, Charles Wharton, 1881-

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American literature -- Book reviews.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American -- 20th century.
Books -- Reviews.
Composers -- United States.
Dramatists, American -- 20th century.
Educators -- United States.
Irish Americans.
Irish-American literature -- 20th century.
Music -- 20th century.
Music -- Poetry.
Musicians -- United States.
Novelists, American -- 20th century.
Plays-in-progress.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Short stories, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Musical scores.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Poems.
Reviews (document genre)
Textbooks.

Occupations

Authors.
Composers.
Dramatists.
Educators.
Musicians.
Novelists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Brandon Saul Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Dr. George B. Saul, 1966-1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence (1966-1967 accessions)

Subject files (1966-1967 accessions)

Manuscripts (1966-1967 accessions)

Published material (1966-1967 accessions)

Correspondence (1968 additions)

Manuscripts and published works (1968 additions)

Correspondence (1969 additions)

Memorabilia (1969 additions)

Writings (1969 additions)


Inventory