Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Siegfried Sassoon Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Aug 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sassoon, Siegfried, 1886-1967
Title: Siegfried Sassoon Letter
Dates: 1958
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Letter from British poet and author Siegfried Sassoon to John S. Mayfield.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Siegfried Sassoon (1886-1967) was a noted British poet and author, best known for his anti-war writings during World War I (though he served with distinction on the Western Front for two years). He is one of sixteen Great War poets commemorated on a stone in Westminster Abbey.

John S. Mayfield was Curator of Rare Books and Manuscripts at Syracuse University's Bird Library in the 1950s, under Chancellor William Tolley.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Siegfried Sassoon Letter consists of a single letter from Siegfried Sassoon to John S. Mayfield, thanking Mayfield for his gift of a reproduction of Ralph Hodgson's "The Mystery.""


Arrangement of the Collection

One item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous works by Sassoon in its Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983.
Sassoon, Siegfried, 1886-1967.

Subjects

English poetry -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Siegfried Sassoon Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Mayfield, 2009.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 334 Mayfield, John S. 14 Jan 1958