Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Saratoga Board of Supervisors Proceedings

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Saratoga County (N.Y.). -- Board of Supervisors.
Title: Saratoga Board of Supervisors Proceedings
Dates: 1863-1867
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Proceedings for the Board of Supervisors of Saratoga County, New York, for the yeras 1863 through 1867, inclusive.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Saratoga County is located in northeastern New York State, not far from the eastern border. The county seat is the village of Ballston Spa. Originally (1683) the area was part of Albany County; Albany was subdivided several times (1766, 1770, 1772, and 1786), with the future Saratoga County remaining part of Albany County each time. In 1791, Albany was divided once again and two new counties, Saratoga and Rensselaer, were formed. As of the 2000 census the county had a little over 200,000 residents. The region is particularly popular in summer for its recreational opportunities, including the Saratoga Race Course, Saratoga Spa, and Adirondacks National Park.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Saratoga Board of Supervisors Proceedings consists of a single large volume, recording the proceedings of meetings of the Board of Supervisors for the county from 1863 to 1867. Detailed narratives are provided, along with in some cases financial information such as taxes collected and compensation paid. The volume is handwritten, in a clear and relatively legible hand. Unfortunately, a few pages at the beginning have been pasted over with clippings from newspapers, evidently by someone treating the volume as a scrapbook.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Saratoga County (N.Y.). -- Board of Supervisors.

Subjects

Local government -- New York (State) -- 19th century.

Places

Saratoga County (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.
Saratoga County (N.Y.) -- Politics and government.

Genres and Forms

Financial records.
Minutes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Saratoga Board of Supervisors Proceedings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Administrative records


Inventory

Administrative records
Box 1 Board of Supervisors Proceedings 1863-1867