Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Cary Sanger Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 18 Sep 2009

Revision history:
6 Dec 2012 bio corrected (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sanger, Wm. Cary (William Cary), 1853-1921.
Title: William Cary Sanger Papers
Dates: 1901-1903
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence relating to Sanger's tenure as Assistant Secretary of War.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Cary Sanger (1853-1921) was an American military man and government official. A native of New York, he graduated from Harvard University (1874) and had a lengthy military career; among his other positions, he served as Assistant Secretary of War (1901-1903) under Benjamin Root.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Cary Sanger Papers consist of correspondence relating to Sanger's tenure as Assistant Secretary of War, 1901-1903.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The New York State Library has a substantial collection of Sanger's papers. A complete finding aid is available at http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/msscfa/sc22786.htm.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sanger, Wm. Cary (William Cary), 1853-1921.

Corporate Bodies

United States -- War Department.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Cary Sanger Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.