Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Margaret Sanger Letter

An description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sanger, Margaret, 1879-1966.
Title: Margaret Sanger Letter
Dates: 1931
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: One letter from the American birth control advocate regarding publication of conference proceedings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Margaret Sanger (1879-1966) was an American contraceptive advocate and founder of the American Birth Control League.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Margaret Sanger Letter consists of a single letter from Sanger to a Mrs. F. Blumberg, regarding the publication of proceedings of a conference in Zurich. The letter is on the letterhead of the Committee on Federal Legislation, which lists Sanger as Chairman of the Committee. In it, Sanger refers to delays in publication due to "the difficulty of bringing certain material from Europe into the United States."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the papers of her husband, William Cary Sanger.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sanger, Margaret, 1879-1966.

Corporate Bodies

National Committee on Federal Legislation for Birth Control.

Subjects

Birth control -- United States.
Reproductive rights -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Margaret Sanger Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 571 Blumberg, Mrs. F. 8 Aug 1931