Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Carl Sandburg Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
11 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sandburg, Carl, 1878-1967.
Title: Carl Sandburg Collection
Dates: 1924-1954
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Three items of outgoing correspondence and a manuscript of the American author and poet.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Carl Sandburg (1878-1967) was an American author, editor and poet. He won three Pulitzer prizes, two for his poetry and the third for his biography of Abraham Lincoln.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carl Sandburg Collection consists of three items of outgoing correspondence and a manuscript. Two letters are to John Stuart Groves. The third, written on the letterhead stationery of the Chicago Daily News, is a note to Miss Cooper about her Memphis bookshop. It includes a holograph attachment which reads in part:

It is a booklover's tavern; ancient; shrewd; up to date; on the job; careless; lavish; paradoxical & whimsical; its welcomes are fresh as the freshest eggs; the panels of its doors have passwords for all book bugs...Whether you laugh or pray depends on how you feel.

Titled "Preface," the seven-page typescript was written in 1924 as an early version of Sandburg's introduction to The Prairie Years. In broadcasts on radio and national television, the piece was read by Sandburg on Abraham Lincoln's birthday, February 12th, 1954.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Groves, John Stuart.
Sandburg, Carl, 1878-1967 -- The prairie years.
Sandburg, Carl, 1878-1967.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 20th century.
Poets, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carl Sandburg Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Manuscript of preface, gift of George and Lena Arents, 1973.

Correspondence, transfer from Rare Books, 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Manuscripts


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 144 John Stuart Groves; "Dear Miss Cooper" 1924, 1933, 1935 (3 items)
Manuscripts
SC 144 Preface to The Prairie Years - typescript of early version, 7pp