Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Leonard B. Sand Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DMB
Date: Dec 1978

Revision history:
17 Dec 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sand, Leonard B.
Title: Leonard B. Sand Papers
Dates: 1967
Quantity: 4.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American lawyer. Correspondence, press releases, speeches, and other material relating to Sand's participation in the 1967 New York State Constitutional Convention.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Leonard B. Sand was an lawyer in New York State, and a delegate to the 1967 New York State Constitutional Convention.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leonard B. Sand Papers consist of subject files relating to Sand's participation in the 1967 New York State Constitutional Convention.


Arrangement of the Collection

Files are arranged alphabetically by subject.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Additional 1967 Constitutional Convention material, including the Blaine Amendment, may be found in the Erastus Corning II Papers. Other New York State Constitutional Conventions are represented in the papers of Asa Eastwood (1821), Gulian C. Verplanck (1867, 1868), and Edward Corsi (1938).


Subject Headings

Persons

Sand, Leonard B. Archives.

Corporate Bodies

New York (State). Constitutional Convention (1967)

Subjects

Constitutional conventions -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- Politics and government, 1951-

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Press releases.
Speeches.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leonard B. Sand Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

General files


Inventory

General files
Box 1 Amendment to Proposition 1333
Box 1 Amendment to Proposition 1365
Box 1 Bill of rights research material
Box 1 Blaine Amendment letter to constituents
Box 1 Committee on the Executive Branch (2 folders)
Committee on the Legislature
Box 1 Meetings, hearings
Box 1 Minority report
Box 1 Sub-committee #2, Reapportionment
Box 1 Committee on Presentation of Proposed Constitution
Box 1 Committee on Style and Arrangement
Box 1 Constitution Convention letters, submission in what form?
Box 1 Democratic State Committee on Constitutional Reform
Box 1 Economic development
Box 2 Education
Box 2 Education files, retain Blaine letters
Box 2 Ethics Committee
Executive Committee
Box 2 Meetings, hearings
Box 2 Research - Dept. of Justice, Attorney General's Office
Box 2 Governmental structure research material
Box 2 Health, Housing and Social Services
Box 3 Home Rule; Taxation; State Finances
Box 3 Intergovernmental Relations
Box 3 Invitations
Box 3 Judiciary Committee materials
Box 3 Labor, Civil Service, and Public Pensions Committee
Legislative Committee
Box 3 Reapportionment, local
Box 3 Research materials for use of committee
Box 3 Letters from constituents, never answered
Box 3 Letters of congratulation
Box 3 Lobbyists, list of
Box 3 Memos
Box 3 Minority report, copies of
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Box 3 Miscellaneous Constitutional Convention material
Box 3 Miscellaneous correspondence
Box 4 Miscellaneous printed material
Box 4 Natural Resources
Box 4 News releases
Box 4 Newsletter, copies of
Box 4 Payroll
Box 4 Personal
Box 4 Press releases and clippings
Box 4 Proposals of other delegates
Propositions
Box 4 Executive branch (1 volume)
Box 4 Legislature (1 volume)
By Sand
Box 4 24
Box 4 452
Box 4 975
Box 4 On order of third reading
Box 4 Real estate tax, letters from constituents
Box 4 Resolution 66, barring judges from other offices
Box 4 Resolutions of other delegates
Box 4 Retain Blaine Amendment letters from constituents
Box 4 Rules
Box 4 Simplification, research material
Box 4 Speeches, L. B. Sand
Box 4 Sub-committee membership
Box 4 Sub-committee on Elected Executives, meetings and hearings
Box 4 Telegrams, copies of
Box 4 Travia's news releases
Box 4 Wiretapping and electronic bugging, letters from constituents