Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Salt Company of Onondaga Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Feb 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Onondaga Salt Company.
Title: Salt Company of Onondaga Collection
Dates: 1863-1869
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Miscellaneous financial material from the Salt Company of Ononondaga, in Syracuse, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Salt Company of Onondaga was incorporated in 1860 when local salt manufacturers in and around Syracuse, New York united to form a single company. It is not to be confused with the earlier Onondaga Salt Company, formed about 1821 by Stephen Smith, William Rotch, Jr., Samuel Rodman and James Arnold.

The purpose of the company was

" ...to secure a more thorough and systematic management of their business -- to cheapen the cost of manufacturing, and to lessen the expense of distributing the article to all points where it finds a market, thereby enabling the manufacturers to supply more distant sections of the country than they had before been able to do, and also to improve and give uniformity to the character of Onondaga Salt." [Pamphlet, "Salt Company of Onondaga," 1862.]

The company's offices were at the corner of Clinton and Genesee Streets in Syracuse. The officers were George F. Comstock, president; William Winton, treasurer; and J. W. Barker, secretary. The company was known for its Dairy Salt, a very finely ground, pure salt used in making butter and margarine.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Salt Company of Onondaga Collection consists of a few business records (receipts and price lists) from the company.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Salt Company of Onondaga.

Subjects

Salt industry and trade -- New York (State)
Salt industry and trade -- United States.

Places

Syracuse (New York) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Price lists.
Receipts.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Salt Company of Onondaga Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Business records


Inventory

Business records
SC 787 Receipts, price lists. 1863-1869