Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Salt City Center Promotional Artwork

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 18 Sep 2007

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Salt City Center for the Performing Arts (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Title: Salt City Center Promotional Artwork
Dates: ca. 1970-1989
Quantity: 3 linear ft. (2 large portfolios, 5-6 rolled items)
Abstract: Salt City Center for the Performing Arts is a nonprofit multiethnic arts center and theatre production company and venue in Syracuse, New York. Collection includes artwork for posters, other promotional material including preliminary sketches.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Incorporated in 1968 as Salt City Playhouse, Salt City Center for the Performing Arts is a nonprofit multiethnic arts center and theatre production company and venue in Syracuse, New York. Productions performed over the years include Me and My Girl, Othello, and Forever Plaid, while their annual Easter season performance of Jesus Christ, Superstar is the longest running annual performance in Syracuse. In 1963 it began offering a program for inner-city youth which survives today as a two-week day camp for children, Theatre Arts for Youth. Salt City has been recognized by the National Endowment for the Arts as "an institution of national significance."

(Adapted from Salt City Center's website, 18 Sep 2007.)


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Salt City Center Promotional Artwork contains posters and other promotional artwork, both final and preliminary.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Salt City Center for the Performing Arts (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

Advertising.
Amateur theatre -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Arts publicity.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life.

Genres and Forms

Posters.
Sketches.

Occupations

Advertising

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Salt City Center Promotional Artwork,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2007.


Table of Contents


Inventory

The inventory has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.