Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Aaron Sakolski Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sakolski, Aaron M. (Aaron Morton), 1880-1955.
Title: Aaron Sakolski Collection
Dates: 1782-1862
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Assorted historical material collected by Syracuse University alumnus Aaron Sakolski. Collection includes Confederate money, a patent for land in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, and other items.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Aaron Morton Sakolski (1880-1956?) was a member of the class of 1902 at Syracuse University and later attended Johns Hopkins. He was interested both professionally and personally in economic aspects of investment, land tenure, and railroads.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Aaron Sakolski Collection consists of assorted historical documents from the personal collection of Aaron M. Sakolski. The collection contains patent, made out to Henry Drinker, for a tract of land in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania known as Chesnut Level; three Confederate bonds from Missouri and Mississippi; a United States bond from the 18th century; and a 1798 letter from one John Nicholson to a William Young and others, involving the Delaware and Schuylkill Canal Co.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Sakolski, Aaron M. (Aaron Morton), 1880-1955.

Corporate Bodies

Delaware and Schuylkill Canal Company.

Subjects

Bonds -- United States.
Canals -- United States.
Paper money -- United States -- History.

Places

Luzerne County (Pa.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Bills of sale.
Correspondence.
Paper money.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Aaron Sakolski Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frances Mylon, 1986.


Table of Contents

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Miscellaneous
SC 568 Confederate bonds, Missouri and Mississippi circa 1863
SC 568 Drinker land patent, Luzerne County, PA 1796
SC 568 Nicholson letter 1798 - relates to the Delaware and Schuylkill Canal Co.
SC 568 United States bond 1782