Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Janette Cooper Rutledge Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rutledge, Janette Cooper.
Title: Janette Cooper Rutledge Papers
Dates: 1955
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two pages of typescript, with accompanying letter and unidentified photograph.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Janette Cooper Rutledge (dates unknown) was an American author. Among other things, she wrote a "spiritual interpretation" of Edward Fitzgerald's translation of the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam, entitled Lumifar.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Janette Cooper Rutledge Papers consists of three items. Two pages of typescript contain fragments of the Rubaiyat. An accompanying letter mentions the occurrence of blank pages in an unidentified publication, possibly Lumifar; the envelope is addressed to Mr. Ewing C. Baskette, who was a lawyer, librarian and bibliographer. The final item is a printed photograph of an elderly bearded gentleman seated in a chair with a book. The man is not identified.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Baskette, Ewing Cannon, 1902-1958.
Rutledge, Janette Cooper.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Women authors.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Reproductive prints.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Janette Cooper Rutledge Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1996.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 578 Typescript, two pages, with accompanying letter and unidentified photograph 1955