Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Alexander Russell Collection

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Feb 2010

Biographical History

(George) Alexander Russell (1880-1953) was an American composer and musician, particularly known for his piano and organ works. He graduated from Syracuse University in 1901 and spent the next four years as associate professor of pianoforte and organ there. His wife Eloise Holden Russell (1885?-1984) was a native of Syracuse. Russell studied in Berlin and Paris from 1906 to 1909. Upon his return to the United States, following a 1909 concert-tour he became director of the Auditorium Concerts at Wanamaker's in New York, and for nearly twenty years (1917-1935) he held the Henry Frick Chair of Music at Princeton University. Syracuse University granted him an honorary Mus. Doc in 1921 and in 1929 he received his Doctor of Pedagogy from the Cincinnati Conservatory. He was also named a Chevalier of the Order of the Crown of Belgium in 1932.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alexander Russell Collection consists of published music and manuscripts of compositions by Russell. There are also a few compositions by others, including a few by Eloise Russell. Compositions include both sacred and secular; several, such as "Christi qui lux es et dies" and "Jesu dulcis memoria," are based on medieval sacred works.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged in alphabetical order.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Many of the manuscripts are on very fragile or brittle paper. Care should be taken in handling the original material.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The library has recordings of many of Russell's compositions; please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing (search on "Russell, Alexander" as author).

Subject Headings


Russell, Alexander, 1880-1953.
Russell, Eloise.


Organ music -- 20th century.
Composers -- United States.
Organists -- United States.
Pianists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Sheet music.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alexander Russell Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Belfer, Feb 2010.

Table of Contents

Manuscript scores

Published material