Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Rudy Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 17 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rudy, Charles, 1904-
Title: Charles Rudy Papers
Dates: 1947-1964
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American sculptor. Collection includes correspondence, subject files, photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Rudy (1904-1986) was an American sculptor. A native of Pennsylvania, he is best known for his many works on public buildings and monuments, such as the 14-foot limestone Noah at the Bronx post office. He was featured in an article in LIFE magazine, and received a Guggenheim Fellowship. In addition to producing his own work, he taught at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts and at the Cooper Union Art School.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Rudy Papers includes correspondence, subject files, and photographs.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rudy, Charles, 1904-

Subjects

Monuments.
Portrait sculpture.
Sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Rudy Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Rudy, 1964, 1965.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.