Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Miklos Rozsa Screenplays

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Feb 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Miklos Rozsa Screenplays
Dates: 1945-1980
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Composer Miklos Rozsa's copies of two screenplays: A Song to Remember and Eye of the Needle.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Miklós Rózsa (1907-1995) was a Hungarian-born composer. In his early years he composed orchestral, chamber, and choral works, but later -- first in London and then in America -- he became a well-known composer of film scores. Among his best- films are Double Indemnity (1944), Spellbound (1945), and Ben-Hur (1959). He earned three Academy Awards and numerous nominations over the course of his career.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Miklos Rozsa Screenplays consists of two screenplays, A Song to Remember and Eye of the Needle. Pencilled notes by Rozsa appear on a few scattered pages.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Miklos Rozsa Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rózsa, Miklós, 1907-1995.

Subjects

Composers.
Conductors (Music)
Hungarian Americans.
Motion picture music -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Screenplays.

Occupations

Composers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Miklos Rozsa Screenplays,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Screenplays


Inventory

Screenplays
SC 728 A song to remember 1945
SC 728 Eye of the needle 1980