Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Royal Arcanum, Central City Council #383, Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Jan 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Royal Arcanum.
Title: Royal Arcanum, Central City Council #383, Records
Dates: 1884-1931
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Record books of the organization, including attendance records and minutes of meetings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Royal Arcanum is a fraternal organization founded in Boston in 1877 for the purpose of furnishing protection and assistance to widows, orphans and dependents by offering life insurance at the lowest possible cost to its members.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Royal Arcanum, Central City Council #383, Records consist of a number of bound volumes containing attendance records, minutes of meetings and other information about the society. The records commence with documentation in December of 1884 and conclude with a report from January of 1931.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several other collections relating to fraternal organizations. For a full listing, please search our collections using the phrase "fraternal organizations."


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Royal Arcanum.

Subjects

Fraternal organizations -- Massachusetts.
Life insurance -- History.

Places

Boston (Mass.) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Attendance records.
Minute books.
Minutes (administrative records)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Royal Arcanum, Central City Council #383, Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Minute books


Inventory

Minute books
Box 1 Minute books 1884-1900 (5 volumes)
Box 2 Minute books 1901-1917, 1928-1931 (5 volumes)