Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Kay Rossman Collection of Alice in Wonderland Memorabilia

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: Amanda Baker
Date: 10 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rossman, Kathleen.
Title: Kay Rossman Collection of Alice in Wonderland Memorabilia
Dates: 1947-2002
Quantity: 18 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection accumulated by Kay Rossman; extensive and diverse set of items, ranging from Christmas ornaments and figurines to tea sets, clocks, games and record albums.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Kathleen "Kay" Rossman (1918-2004) was a native of Syracuse, New York, a graduate of Syracuse University, and active throughout her life in university and community volunteer activities. She contributed her time and dedication to many university alumni and fund-raising events and organizations, while her community work included serving on the boards of the Girls Clubs of America, United Way of Central New York, Crouse-Irving Memorial Hospital, Friends of Lorenzo and the Consortium for Childrens Services. She was also a founding member of the Volunteer Center and worked closely with Ruth Colvin, the founder of Literacy Volunteers of America. Her collection of Lewis Carroll books and memorabilia was amassed over many years; she was a member of the Lewis Carroll Society of North America and for nearly ten years she owned and operated a gift shop in Cazenovia named "The Cheshire Cat."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kay Rossman Collection of Alice in Wonderland Memorabilia consists of an extensive and diverse set of items, ranging from Christmas ornaments and figurines to tea sets, clocks, games and record albums. The inclusive dates given for the collection are approximate, as many items bear no date at all.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items in the collection are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Several hundred books and monographs by and about Lewis Carroll (Charles Lutwidge Dogson) that were part of the collection have been transferred to our Rare Books holdings and cataloged. These include numerous editions of Alice dating back to 1866, as well as titles such as The art of Alice in Wonderland (Stoffel, 1998), The original Alice : from manuscript to Wonderland (Brown, 1997), and The universe in a handkerchief : Lewis Carroll's mathematical recreations, games, puzzles, and word plays (Gardner, 1996). Please refer to the Classic Catalog and search on "Gift of Kathleen W. Rossman" to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Carroll, Lewis, 1832-1898 -- Alice in wonderland -- Collectibles.
Carroll, Lewis, 1832-1898 -- Collectibles.
Carroll, Lewis, 1832-1898 -- Through the looking glass -- Collectibles.
Rossman, Kathleen.

Subjects

Alice (Fictitious character : Carroll) -- Collectibles.
Cheshire Cat (Fictitious character : Carroll) -- Collectibles.
Mad Hatter (Fictitious character) -- Collectibles.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Boxes.
Calendars.
Candlesticks.
Character dolls.
Character toys.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Coloring books.
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Figurines.
Jigsaw puzzles.
Long-playing records.
Paper dolls.
Photographs.
Picture postcards.
Plays (document genre)
Posters.
Programs (documents)
Videocassettes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kay Rossman Collection of Alice in Wonderland Memorabilia,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Kay Rossman.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 Alice in Wonderland book of ornaments, Metropolitan Museum of Art - added 8/2002
Box 1 "Nest of Alice" characters, painted wooden dolls
Box 1 Mobile with tree centerpiece, created by Su Gay - features Cheshire Cat, Alice, and White Rabbit. All pieces are wooden. Characters are decorative in cloth and painted, except for the tree.
Box 1 Actual Chestnut from the Christ Church Deanery Garden, Oxford University 1982
Box 1 Alice china flower container "The Mad Tea Party"
Box 1 Cheshire cat metal hand bell
Box 1 The Mad Hatter miniature jigsaw puzzle
Box 1 Alice Down the Rabbit Hole Llandudno metal pin
Box 1 Alice miniature crown in box
Box 1 Stuffed cloth Alice hanging ornament
Box 1 Handmade decorative tree ornaments, in the shape of eggs (5 items)
Box 1 Orange belt with 6 picture frame pins of Alice in Wonderland
Box 2 Bronze Alice character, the White Rabbit, by Heredities
Box 2 Lavender Alice doll by Cuckoobird
Box 2 Metal pencil boxes (4 items)
Box 2 Tweedle Dee/Tweedle Dum figurine/ornament, by A Company of Friends 1979
Box 2 Alice figurine/ornament, by A Company of Friends 1979
Box 2 White Rabbit figurine/ornament, by A Company of Friends 1979
Box 2 Queen of Hearts' Herald figurine/ornament, by A Company of Friends 1979
Box 2 Alice doll,12", on metal stand
Box 2 Cheshire Cat door knockers, brass (2 ite,s)
Box 2 Cheshire Cat candle holder, brass
Box 2 "She Must Go by Post, as She's Got a Head on Her, Alice, North Dakota," by Virginia Godfrey Langlois 1984 - booklet
Box 2 Key chain and necklace with images from "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" from the Year of the Child
Box 2 British Post Office mint stamps from the Year of the Child (2 packs)
Box 3 Hallmark Keepsake ornament "Alice Meets the Cheshire Cat"
Box 3 2 Alice tin boxes (3 ½" X 2 ¾" X 2 ¾")
Box 3 Large "Alice Through the Looking Glass" tin box
Box 3 Ceramic Cheshire Cat created by Christina Gray
Box 3 Tin "Alice in Wonderland" box with clock
Box 3 Original Alice Clock by Roger Lascelles Clocks of London
Box 3 Packet of materials about Christina Gray's Cheshire Cat and other Carroll merchandise
Box 4 Round biscuit tin
Box 4 Framed map of Oxford, England
Box 4 Stained glass Cheshire Cat
Box 4 Hanging plate of Alice and the White Rabbit with wooden stand
Box 4 Oval stained glass Cheshire Cat
Box 4 Stained glass rectangular Alice in Wonderland scenes with chains (6 items)
Box 5 Alice in Wonderland plates (3 items)
Box 5 Set of Alice in Wonderland wooden figurines (13 items)
Box 5 Alice in Wonderland tea set - includes a teapot, 2 cups and 2 saucers
Box 5 Alice in Wonderland mug
Box 6 Stuffed Alice in Wonderland character ornaments (3 items)
Box 6 Mad Hatter's Tea Party tea towel
Box 6 The MacMillan Alice Address Book 1981
Box 6 Alice in Wonderland silk scarf
Box 6 Length of Alice in Wonderland fabric, 1⅔ yards X 48"
Screen prints
Box 6 Alice and the Caterpillar
Box 6 Mad Hatter's Tea Party
Box 6 Alice in Wonderland jigsaw puzzle
Box 7 Alice in Wonderland soap collection
Box 7 Alice and the White Rabbit night light
Box 8 Package of Alice in Wonderland postcards, note cards, and bookmarks
Box 8 Reading the Mind by Lewis Carroll, boxed 1999
Box 8 Eight or nine Wise Words about Letter Writing by Lewis Carroll, boxed 1999
Box 8 Alice's Flip Book
Box 8 Alice in Wonderland paper doll by Tim Tierney, Dover Little Activity Books
Box 8 Package of Alice in Wonderland postcards (12 items)
Box 8 Alice in Wonderland Notched Card Construction and Building Set
Box 8 Bag of items from Alice's shop in Oxford, including catalog
Box 8 Alice in Wonderland stickers (2 packages)
Box 8 Alice in Wonderland jigsaw puzzles (6 items)
Box 8 Box of animals from Wonderland Writing Papers
Box 8 Large sheet of embossed cut-out paper dolls from Alice in Wonderland
Books on audiocassette
Box 9 Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, read by Marvin Miller and Jane Webb, Cassette Book Company
Box 9 Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll, read by Dana Craig, Cassettet Book Company 1983
Box 9 Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll, read by Alan Bennett, BBC Young Collection 1985
Box 9 Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll, read by Richard and Marilyn Sharine, Cassette Productions 1981 (2 tapes)
Box 9 Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, read by Richard and Marilyn Scharine, Casette Productions 1981 (2 tapes)
Box 9 Lewis Carroll's Songs: Original Melodies and Victorian Verses, Syndicat du Wonderland 1986
Box 9 TLC Great Books video of Alice in Wonderland (1 videocassette)
Box 9 Porcelain dolls of the White Rabbit, the Queen of Hearts, the Mad Hatter, Alice
Box 10 AB Bookman's Weekly, Special Children's Book Issue November 16, 1981
Box 10 Photograph of Alice dolls
Box 10 Description of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" exhibit by the Osborne Collection of Children's Books, Toronto Public Library May 11, 1990
Box 10 Description of "Alice 125: Pictures and Conversation" exhibit at the Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Maryland April 1987
Box 10 Plastic bag of miscellaneous paper items related to Alice in Wonderland
Box 10 Samples of full text online: U-M Fantasy and Science Fiction website
Box 10 Package of catalogs, articles, and materials related to Alice in Wonderland
Box 10 New York Times crossword puzzle
Box 10 Alice in Wonderland coloring books (2 items)
Box 10 Sir John Tenniel's Alice: 16 Prints in Colour
Box 10 Black and white illustrations from Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass (14 items)
Box 10 Paper bags from Alice's Lewis Carroll's Sheep Shop, 83 St. Aldate's Oxford
Box 10 Alice in Wonderland cutout note cards from the Metropolitan Museum of Art (2 boxes)
Box 11 Photographs from Cleota Reed to Kay Rossman
Box 11 Lewis Carroll's Birthplace Trust brochure (2 copies)
Box 11 Playbill, Alice in Wonderland
Box 11 Folder of miscellaneous articles, pamphlets, magazines, and other materials
Box 11 Smithsonian Magazine August 1892
Box 11 Wake Forest Magazine December 1997
Box 11 Disney's Alice in Wonderland Activity Pad
Box 11 Miscellaneous papers about Alice in Wonderland
Box 11 Queen Victoria's Alice in Wonderland
Box 11 Cohen, Morton N. Typescript of talk given at Christ Church 1982
Box 11 Carroll brochures
Box 11 Postcards and bookmarks
Box 11 Johnson, Linda - correspondence (26 letters)
Box 11 Newspaper articles
Box 11 Children's books and illustrated books
Box 11 Miscellaneous newspaper and journal articles
Box 12 Magazines with articles about Alice in Wonderland
Conferences
LCSNA visit to Christ Church, Oxford England 1982 July 26-31
Box 13 Correspondence
Box 13 Exhibition Catalogs
Box 13 Photographs
Box 13 Notes and memorabilia
International Lewis Carroll Conference, 1st, Oxford 1989 July 27-30
Box 13 Exhibition Catalogs
International Lewis Carroll Conference, 2nd 1994 June 9-12
Correspondence
Box 13 Programs
Box 13 Auction catalog
Box 13 Exhibition catalogs
Box 13 Photographs
Box 13 Notes and miscellaneous
Carroll Foundation (Australia)
Box 13 Correspondence
See: Conferences 1989 July 27-30 Printed material, Exhibition catalogs
Box 13 Printed Material
Lewis Carroll Society (Daresbury Cheshire England), Lewis Carroll Birthplace Trust
Box 13 Fundraising
Box 13 Miscellany
Box 13 Constitution
Box 13 Membership
Box 13 Publications lists
Box 13 Miscellany
Box 13 Lewis Carroll Society of North America (LCSNA) 1978-1995 - correspondence, programs, announcements (4 folders)
Box 13 Lewis Carroll Society of North America, West Coast Chapter
Adaptations
Box 14 Cinematic announcements
Box 14 Literary
Box 14 Miscellaneous performances
Musical
Box 14 Miscellaneous
Box 14 Nonsense Songs from Alice in Wonderland circa 1908
Theatrical
Box 14 Programs
Box 14 K. Rossman version of Grassie script used for book club presentation
Box 14 Isobel Grassie script circa 1952
Box 14 Clarke, Henry Savile, Stage production of "Alice"
Box 14 Alice in North Caroll-ina
Box 14 Advertisements and brochures
Box 14 Alice in Wonderland Collectables (2 folders)
Box 14 Carroll Centenary, UK
Box 14 Collector's notes - index cards
Box 14 Exhibition programs
Box 14 The Hunting of the Snark
Box 14 Illustrators of Alice in Wonderland - clippings
Box 14 Keepsakes
Box 14 Lectures, talks and sermons
Box 14 Lewis Carroll pending items
Box 14 Lewis Carroll Program, Kappa Kappa Gamma November 31, 1990
Box 14 Lewis Carroll Society of North America "Alice in New York" March 27, 1998
Box 14 Lovett book draft
Box 14 Magazine and newspaper clippings and cartoons
Box 14 Miscellaneous articles and advertisements
Box 14 News articles 1970's and 1990's
Box 14 Note cards and postcards
Box 14 Publication announcements and book advertisements
Box 14 Pogany, Willy (illustrator)
Box 14 K. Rossman personal materials
Box 14 K. Rossman personal recognition
Box 14 Figure renditions by Diane Smoler
Box 14 Tenniel paper, Social Art Club February 10, 1976
Box 14 Wonderland-Spiegel
Box 15 Alice through the Looking Glass tin
Box 15 Figurines of Alice, the Mad Hatter, and the Queen of Hearts
Box 15 Rubber stamp, "Kathleen W. Rossman Collection Relating to Lewis Carroll"
Box 15 Metropolitan magnets, Alice in Wonderland
Box 15 Rubber stamps
Box 15 Stained glass panel
Box 16 Article, "Christmas with Lewis Carroll," New York Times Magazine December 20, 1981
Box 16 LIFE magazine with Alice on the cover April 28, 1947
Box 16 Newspaper clippings
Box 16 The Newberry Library calendar with Sir John Tenniel's illustrations adapted for The Nursery ‘Alice' 1982
Box 16 Alice-in-Wonderland Spin Game
Box 16 Figurines, assorted
Box 17 Cheshire Cat backscratcher, bronze
Box 17 Tote bags, assorted
Box 17 Posters, assorted
Box 17 Small note pad
Posters, oversize
Framed etching of the Mad Hatter
Large calendars (2 items)
Vinyl records
David Del Tredici's Final Alice with Barbara Hendricks, The Chicago Symphony, and Sir Georg Solti - includes newspaper clippings
Through the Looking-Glass with Joan Greenwood as Alice and Stanley Holloway
Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland adapted and produced by Douglas Cleverdon with Jane Asher as Alice - 2 copies with different album art
Through the Looking Glass read and sung by Cyril Ritchard, original musical score by Alec Wilder, played by the New York Woodwind Quintet, "including a facsimile volume of the rare 1872 first edition of the book"
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland read and sung by Cyril Ritchard, original musical score by Alec Wilder, played by the New York Woodwind Quintet, "including a facsimile volume of the rare 1872 first edition of the book" (2 copies)