Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Benjamin C. Ross Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: SM
Date: 13 Dec 2016

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Benjamin C. Ross
Title: Benjamin C. Ross Papers
Dates: 1859-1885
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: The collection consists of financial material and a deputy sheriff diploma related to the Syracusan Benjamin C. Ross.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Benjamin C. Ross (1822-1910), son of Seth (1778-1858) and Hannah (Chapman, ) Ross was a farmer and entrepreneur [?] of Onondaga County, NY. He was married to Mary Maria (Gumaer) Ross and entered a commercial co-partnership with his brother in law John E. Gumaer (Ross & Gumaer). A diploma from August 1885 also lists him as "Special Deputy Sheriff [...] for 20 days."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benjamin C. Ross Papers comprise financial documents, an indenture and a diploma certifying Ross's appointment as deputy sheriff.


Arrangement of the Collection

The financial material is organized chronologically while the other two folders contain only a single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ross, Benjamin C. (1822-1910)

Subjects

Entrepreneurship.
Law enforcement -- History.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Certificates.
Financial records.
Indentures.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benjamin C. Ross Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 2015.


Table of Contents

Papers


Inventory

Papers
SC 776 Deputy sheriff appointment 12 Aug 1885
SC 776 Financial 12 Jan 1863-12 Dec 1863
SC 776 Indenture 29 June 1859