Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Samuel Rosen Autobiography

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 17 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rosen, Samuel, 1897-
Title: Samuel Rosen Autobiography
Dates: 1973-1974
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscript and published edition of Rosen's autobiography.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel Rosen (1897-1981) was an American physician and ear surgeon. A graduate of Syracuse University, he developed the Rosen stapes operation, a delicate surgical procedure which can restore hearing to patients with otosclerosis. He was a consultant at New York Eye and Ear Infirmary and professor emeritus of otolaryngology at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University; he also traveled and lectured extensively, visiting China at least once a year. In recognition of his work, he received honors from medical groups in China, India and Egypt, as well as in the United States. In 1956, he received the Hektoen Gold Medal from the American Medical Association.

[Adapted from Dr. Rosen's obituary in the New York Times, 6 Nov 1981.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Samuel Rosen Autobiography consists of the manuscript and a published edition of Dr. Rosen's autobiography, published in 1973.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A review of Dr. Rosen's book is available online at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/ppmc/articles/PMC1749380.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rosen, Samuel, 1897-

Associated Titles

Autobiography of Dr. Samuel Rosen.

Subjects

Deafness -- Treatment.
Otolaryngologists -- Biography.
Otolaryngology, Operative.
Otolaryngology.
Otology -- Surgery.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Otolaryngologists.
Surgeons.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel Rosen Autobiography,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Samuel Rosen, 1976.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Autiobiography 1973-1974 - manuscript and published edition