Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Theodore Roosevelt Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: ca. 1970



Biographical History

Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919), also known as "Teddy," was the twenty-sixth President of the United States and a leader of the Republican Party and of the Progressive Movement. His public service career included serving as Governor of New York, Assistant Secretary of the Navy, and vice president to William McKinley, whom he succeeded as President upon McKinley's assassination in 1901. His reformist policies, collectively referred to as the "Square Deal", have led historians to view him as one of the ablest presidents and an icon of the Progressive Era. In addition to his political achievements, he was a historian, naturalist, explorer, author, and soldier.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Theodore Roosevelt Collection consists of outgoing correspondence, photographs, articles and speeches by and about Roosevelt, including some produced for memorial services, and a small amount of miscellanea.

Correspondence, ranging from 1882-1918, is largely from Theodore Roosevelt, with a small amount of routine family correspondence included. Family represented: Edith Kermit Roosevelt (wife), Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. (son), Ethel Roosevelt (daughter), and Corinne Roosevelt Robinson (sister). One of the most interesting family letters is from Edith, Sept. 22 (no year), referring to Roosevelt's surprise at his sudden elevation to the office of President of the United States.

Of special interest are the bound transcripts of an extensive exchange between Roosevelt and Henry Cabot Lodge (1850-1924). Running from 1884-1918, the letters are titled, "Secret history of man and events through his entire public career amazingly revealed in intimate epistles," and are heavily political and personal. The letters were published in 1925 by Charles Scribner's Sons as "Selections from the correspondence of Theodore Roosevelt and Henry Cabot Lodge, 1884-1918."

The Photographs depict Roosevelt as Rough Rider and on the campaign trail. Family members are present in many of the news photographs.

Writings contains articles and speeches by and about Roosevelt, including numerous memorial tributes and speeches.

Miscellaneous material consists of campaigning itineraries and a photograph of Deadwood, South Dakota Sheriff Seth Bullock, a long-time friend of Roosevelt.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is divided into outgoing and incoming. Outgoing is arranged in chronological order, apart from family correspondence which follows. Incoming from others is filed at the end of Correspondence. All other material is in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Paul Richards Theodore Roosevelt Collection.

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search SUMMIT, our main catalog for these related materials.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bullock, Seth, 1849-1919.
Lodge, Henry Cabot, 1850-1924.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1887-1944.

Subjects

United States. -- Army. -- Volunteer Cavalry, 1st.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Itineraries.
Photographs.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Politicians -- United States.
Presidents -- United States.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Theodore Roosevelt Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bullock photograph gift of Cliff Strait; portions purchased; portions otherwise acquired.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Photographs

Writings

Miscellaneous


Inventory