Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Nicholas Roosevelt Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Dec 1966



Biographical History

Nicholas Roosevelt (1893-1982) was an American author, journalist, conservationist, and diplomat. A first cousin once removed of President Theodore Roosevelt, he was born June 12, 1893 in New York City and received his A.B. from Harvard in 1914. He served as an attache at the American Embassy in Paris for the next two years, and as secretary to the American mission to Spain in 1916-1917. He served as Vice-Governor to the Philippines for a few months in 1930 before being named minister to Hungary, a post he held for three years (1930-1933). He was a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and a writer for its journal Foreign Affairs, and a foreign correspondent and editorial writer for the New York Times and New York Herald Tribune for more than 20 years (1921-1946). During World War II he was appointed head of the Office of War Information (1942-1945).

In addition to his newspaper work, Roosevelt wrote twelve books including The Philippines, a Treasure and a Problem (1926), A New Birth of Freedom (1938), Venezuela's Place in the Sun: Modernizing a Pioneering Country (1940), Creative Cooking (1956), and Theodore Roosevelt: The Man as I Knew Him (1967). His autobiography, A Front Row Seat, was published in (1953.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nicholas Roosevelt Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, diaries, galley proofs, scrapbooks, manuscripts, and published material.

Correspondence consists of incoming and outgoing correspondence. Subject files includes notes, published material, photographs, research material and genealogy. Diaries, includes manuscripts of diaries arranged alphabetically by subject. Galley proofs contains the galley proofs of an article and two books. Scrapbooks contain primarily clippings of editorials and articles, some relating to Roosevelt's postings in Hungary and the Philippines, others relating to his books.

Manuscripts consists of manuscripts of articles, a ballad, books, book reviews, ministerial dispatches, editorials, lectures, notes, speeches, and manuscripts of others.

Published Material -- articles, a book, book reviews, editorials, newspapers, newspaper clippings, and speeches -- cover


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by subject or correspondent and within that chronologically. The subject "Hungary", because of its size, is broken down further, alphabetically by subject or correspondent. Subject files, diaries, galley proofs, and scrapbooks are also arranged alphabetically by topic or title.

Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type. Within that, manuscripts of articles are arranged alphabetically by subject. Newspaper articles are arranged chronologically. Foreign newspaper articles are arranged chronologically. Books are arranged alphabetically by title.

Published material is arranged alphabetically by type. Within that, book reviews about Roosevelt's books are arranged alphabetically by subject and the remaining subseries are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Adamic, Louis, 1899-1951.
Albright, Horace M. (Horace Marden), 1890-1987.
Atchley, Dana W. (Dana Winslow), 1892-1982.
Churchill, Winston, 1874-1965.
Clemenceau, Georges, 1841-1929.
Colby, William Egan, 1920-1996.
Dulles, Allen, 1893-1969.
Dulles, John Foster, 1888-1959.
Eisenhower, Milton Stover, 1899-1985.
Feis, Herbert, 1893-1972.
Finley, John H. (John Huston), 1863-1940.
Gilbert, Prentiss Bailey.
Grew, Joseph C. (Joseph Clark), 1880-1965.
Gunther, John, 1901-1970.
Hagedorn, Hermann, 1882-1964.
Hanfstaengl, Ernst, 1887-1975.
Hoover, Herbert, 1874-1964.
Hull, Cordell, 1871-1955.
Kellogg, Frank B. (Frank Billings), 1856-1937.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963.
Knox, Frank, 1874-1944.
Krock, Arthur, 1886-1974.
Lamont, Thomas W. (Thomas William), 1870-1948.
Landon, Alfred M. (Alfred Mossman), 1887-1987.
Lewis, Sinclair, 1885-1951.
Lippmann, Walter, 1889-1974.
Lodge, Henry Cabot, 1902-1985.
Lottinville, Savoie, 1906-1997.
Lucas, Dione, 1909-1971.
Marshall, George C. (George Catlett), 1880-1959.
Mayo, Katherine, 1868?-1940.
Miller, Henry, 1891-1980.
Moley, Raymond, 1886-1975.
Montgomery, John Fleshman, 1905-
Nevins, Allan, 1890-1971.
Reinhardt, Aurelia Henry, 1877-1948.
Robinson, Edgar Eugene, 1887-1977.
Rockefeller, Nelson A. (Nelson Aldrich), 1908-1979.
Roosevelt family.
Roosevelt, Archibald, 1918-1990.
Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962.
Roosevelt, Franklin D., Jr. (Franklin Delano), 1914-1988.
Roosevelt, Nicholas, 1893-1982.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1887-1944.
Saltonstall, Leverett, 1892-1979.
Sansom, George Bailey, Sir, 1883-1965.
Schuyler, Louisa Lee.
Seldes, George, 1890-1995.
Shirer, William L. (William Lawrence), 1904-1993.
Stimson, Henry L. (Henry Lewis), 1867-1950.
Sulzberger, Arthur Hays, 1891-1968.
Toynbee, Arnold, 1889-1975.
Wadsworth, James Wolcott, 1846-1926.
Warner, Langdon, 1881-1955.
Warren, Earl, 1891-1974.
Wood, Leonard, 1860-1927.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Conservationists -- United States.
Diplomats -- United States.
Journalists -- United States.
National parks and reserves -- United States.
Nature conservation -- United States.

Places

United States -- Diplomatic and consular service -- Hungary.
United States -- Diplomatic and consular service -- Philippines.
United States -- Foreign relations -- 1929-1933.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Hungary.
United States -- Foreign relations -- Philippines.
United States -- Politics and government -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Dispatches.
Editorials.
Lectures.
Manuscripts for publication.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Authors.
Conservationists.
Diplomats.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nicholas Roosevelt Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Diaries

Galley Proofs

Scrapbooks

Manuscripts

Published material


Inventory