Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Fred Rogers Photograph

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rogers, Fred.
Title: Fred Rogers Photograph
Dates: between 1963-1999
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Photograph of television personality Mister Rogers and a monkey, inscribed and signed by Rogers to first-grade students at VanBuren Elementary School.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mister Rogers' Neighborhood (often shortened to simply Mister Rogers) is an American children's television series. Created and hosted by American educator, songwriter and Presbyterian minister Fred Rogers, the show ran for nearly forty years (1963-2001).

VanBuren Elementary School is in Baldwinsville, New York. The teacher to whose class the photograph is inscribed, Nan Milden, taught at VanBuren from 1954-1999.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fred Rogers Photograph consists of a photograph of television personality Mister Rogers, with a small monkey seated on his shoulder. The photograph is inscribed and signed by Mr. Rogers to a first-grade class at VanBuren Elementary School in Baldwinsville, New York.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rogers, Fred.

Corporate Bodies

VanBuren Elementary School (Baldwinsville, N.Y.)
WCNY (Television station : Syracuse, N.Y.)

Associated Titles

Mister Rogers' neighborhood (Television program)

Subjects

Children's television programs.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fred Rogers Photograph,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2013.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
SC 689 Fred Rogers, with monkey undated - signed and inscribed to Mrs. Milden's first-grade class, thanking them for their letters; the closing signature reads, "Best wishes and happy day from Mister Rogers and the Neighborhood and WCNY-TV."