Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Bruce Rogers Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rogers, Bruce, 1870-1957,
Title: Bruce Rogers Correspondence
Dates: 1900
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter (signed) from book designer Bruce Rogers at Houghton Mifflin to a Mr. Vincent.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Bruce Rogers (1870-1957) was an American typographer and type designer. He was known for his "classical" style of design, favoring typefaces such as Caslon and Centaur, the latter of which he designed himself.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bruce Rogers Correspondence consists of a signed, handwritten letter dated 7 February 1900 on the letterhead of Houghton, Mifflin Company, Publishers, from the book designer Bruce Rogers to a Mr. Vincent. The letter discusses Rogers' design for Vincent's book.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rogers, Bruce, 1870-1957.

Corporate Bodies

Houghton, Mifflin and Company.
Riverside Press (Cambridge, Mass.)

Subjects

Book design -- United States.
Book designers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bruce Rogers Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purhcase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 709 Vincent, — 7 Feb 1900