Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Bernard Rogers Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Oct 1966

Revision history:
27 Apr 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)
14 Jun 2010 adds, reboxing (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rogers, Bernard, 1893-1968.
Title: Bernard Rogers Papers
Dates: 1931-1965
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American composer, educator. Collection contains correspondence (1938-1965), manuscript music scores, writings and notes, photographs, programs, articles, and clippings. Correspondents include Romain Rolland, Robert Shaw, Theodore Presser Company, and Leopold Stokowski.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Bernard Rogers (1893-1968) was an American composer and music teacher.

Born in New York City, Rogers studied at the Institute of Music Art in New York. He married his first wife Ann, with whom he had a daughter; after Ann's death he married Elizabeth Mary Clark in 1938.

Rogers taught at the Eastman School of Music for nearly forty years (1929-1967), as well as teaching at the Cleveland School of Music and the Hartt School in Connecticut. Awards and recognitions include a Pulitzer traveling scholarship (1921), Guggenheim Fellowship (1927-1929), Juillard commission (1947), Fulbright Award (1953), and Ford Foundation commission (1960), as well as honorary degrees from Valparaiso University (1959) and Wayne University (1962). Rogers was a member of the National Institute of Arts and Letters and the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, and a patron of Delta Omicron, an international professional music fraternity.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bernard Rogers Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, programs, manuscripts and published material.

Correspondence is incoming only; correspondents of note include Leopold Stokowski, Robert Shaw and Roman Rolland.

Subject files include published material, lists, photographs, a scrapbook and related materials.

Programs are those of concerts in which Rogers performed.

Manuscripts includes both original manuscripts and copies of manuscripts of music scores, prose and notes.

Published material includes magazine articles and newspaper clippings.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by name of sender. Program are arranged chronologically. All other material is arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rogers, Bernard, 1893-1968.
Rolland, Romain, 1866-1944.
Shaw, Robert.
Stokowski, Leopold, 1882-1977.

Corporate Bodies

Theodore Presser Company.

Subjects

Composers -- United States.
Educators -- United States.
Music -- 20th century.
Musicians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Musical scores.
Notes.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Composers.
Educators.
Musicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bernard Rogers Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Programs

Manuscripts

Published material


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 A-D
Box 1 F-I
Box 1 L-P
Box 1 Rolland, Romain
Box 1 R-S
Box 1 Shaw, Robert
Box 1 Stokowski, Leopold
Box 1 Theodore Presser Company
Box 1 T-W and unidentified
Subject files
Box 1 "The art of orchestration" by Rogers
Box 1 List of works
Box 1 Painting
Box 1 "The passion" - reviews
Box 1 Photographs
Box 1 Rug hooking
Box 1 Radio script
Box 1 Scrapbook
Programs
Box 2 1931-1964, undated (5 folders)
Manuscripts
Music scores
Oversize 1 "Eighteenth Psalm
Oversize 1 "A Letter from Pete"
Oversize 1 "Light of Man" - copy
Oversize 1 "Lord God of Hosts" (Psalm 89) - copy
Oversize 1 "The Prophet Isaiah"
Oversize 1 "The Silver World" - copy; inscribed "to my daughter Anne"
Oversize 1 "Soliloquy" - copy
Oversize 1 "Three Japanese Dances"
Oversize 1 "To the memory of President Roosevelt"
Oversize 1 "Vivaldi - concerto for two trumpets" - orchestral transcription
Oversize 1 Untitled
Oversize 1 Fragments
Writings and notes
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Published material
Box 3 Advertisements
Box 3 Articles about
Box 3 Articles by
Box 3 Articles about others
Box 3 Clippings about
Box 3 Clippings about others