Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Eliakim Roberts Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Roberts, Eliakim.
Title: Eliakim Roberts Papers
Dates: 1816-1859
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence of the New York merchant. Incoming only.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of Eliakim Roberts beyond what is given in the collection. He lived in Cazenovia and was evidently a merchant. He is likely the same Eliakim Roberts mentioned in Daniel Weiskotten's "History of the Madison County Hotel," who owned several properties in town. The Northwestern Reporter, Volume 119, on page 828 mentions an Eliakim Roberts, the brother of Thomas S. Roberts, and Luna Hammond's History of Madison County, New York on page 219 lists Eliakim Roberts as a storekeeper, with nine persons in his household.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eliakim Roberts Papers consists entirely of incoming correspondence addressed to Eliakim Roberts. Some is personal, from family and friends; others relate to business matters. Included with the correspondence are a few scattered receipts, checks, notes, and bills of sale.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Roberts, Eliakim.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- History.
Merchants -- New York (State)

Places

Cazenovia (N.Y.) -- History.
New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Legal documents.
Notes payable.
Receipts (financial records)

Occupations

Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eliakim Roberts Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Kohen Collection, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 569 Incoming 1816-1859, undated