Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jack Robbins Manuscript

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 5 Apr 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Robbins, Jack Alan.
Title: Jack Robbins Manuscript
Dates: 1982
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Manuscript of Robbins' book, Marxism and the Humanist Perspective, which is in part about Granville Hicks.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jack Alan Robbins is the editor of Granville Hicks in the New masses (1974) and James T. Farrell: Literary Essays 1954-74 (1976), among other works.

Granville Hicks (1901-1982) was an American Marxist and later anti-Marxist novelist, literary critic, educator, and editor.

Maurice Merleau-Ponty (1908-1961) was a French philosopher who wrote on perception, art, and politics.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jack Robbins Manuscript consists of a typescript manuscript of Robbins' book, Marxism and the Humanist Perspective. An included note from the author indicates that some portion of the book deals with American author Granville Hicks. There are also a few pages of reader responses and a letter from University Press of America, to whom Robbins had submitted the manuscript.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Jack Robbins Collection Relating to James Farrell, and the Granville Hicks Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Merleau-Ponty, Maurice, 1908-1961.
Robbins, Jack Alan.

Associated Titles

Marxism and the humanist perspective.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Authors, American.
Biographers -- Authorship.
Communism -- United States.
Communism and intellectuals.
Critics -- United States
Literature -- History and criticism.
Marxist criticism.
Radicalism -- United States.

Places

United States -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Critics.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jack Robbins Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jack Robbins, circa 1982


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 795 Marxism and the Humanist Perspective: Merleau-Ponty on Communist Theory and Practice 1982 - typescript with reader responses and letter from publisher