Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

William Rivera Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010

Biographical History

William Rivera (1934- ) is an American adult education practitioner and scholar, specializing in international adult and agricultural extension education.

For nearly 40 years Rivera was a Professor in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Maryland, College Park. He is the author or editor of numerous books, reports and articles, and has extensive international experience with organizations like UNESCO, the Organization of American States (OAS), the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and World Education Inc. He has consulted for the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO/UN), the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), the U.N. Development Program (UNDP), the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), the World Bank, and more than twenty countries from Bolivia to Zambia.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Rivera Papers consists of personal files, subject files and writings.

Personal files contains biographical material (resumes, c.v.'s, personal statements on teaching and other topics), an award from the Association for International Agricultural Extension and Education (AIAEE), and a few items of memorabilia.

Subject files consists of Rivera's research files; topics include innovation in agriculture, innovation systems, rural knowledge economies, and correspondence from the Gates Foundation soliciting Rivera's expertise. Many of the folders contain papers by other authors as well as drafts, notes, partial papers and other material by Rivera.

The bulk of the collection consists of Rivera's Writings, including book chapters, introductions and drafts; work done as a consultant for USAID and the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization; course notes; papers; presentations and speeches; and a few items of published material. Except for the published material, all the writing is in typescript form, most of it printed from electronic files, and many are annotated by Rivera. Many are policy-related, focusing on reform in post-secondary agricultural extension; countries and regions represented include Egypt, France, India, Uganda, and sub-Saharan Africa.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into personal files, subject files and writings. Within each series, material is arranged alphabetically by title or topic. Where possible, presentations have been united with their related paper; if this could not be ascertained, the presentation was filed separately.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Subject Headings


Rivera, William McLeod, 1934-


Adult education.
Agricultural education -- Developing countries.
Agricultural extension work -- Africa.
Agricultural extension work -- Contracting out.
Agricultural extension work -- India.
Agricultural extension work -- United States.
Non-formal education.
Rural development -- Developing countries.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Rivera Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Rivera, 2001, 2011.

Table of Contents

Personal files

Subject files