Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Sidney Noyes Riggs Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 11 Jun 2007

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Riggs, Sidney Noyes
Title: Sidney Noyes Riggs Collection
Dates: 1960-1970
Quantity: .1 linear ft
Abstract: Correspondence and linoleum block prints from the American artist and author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sidney Noyes Riggs was an American printmaker. He married his wife, Dionis Coffin Riggs, in 1922, and Riggs worked for several years as an experimenter for Thomas Edison. Dionis Riggs was an author (as well as a poet and journalist) and Sidney provided the illustrations for many of her books. They retired to Martha's Vineyard in 1954. Sidney died in 1976 and Dionis in 1997. They had several children, including daughter Cynthia Riggs who is a mystery author and as of 2006 still lives in Cleaveland House, the family home/bed and breakfast in West Tisbury, Massachusetts.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sidney Noyes Riggs Collection consists of a small amount of Correspondence between Riggs and John S. Mayfield, then-curator of manuscripts and rare books at Syracuse University; Published material in the form of three issues of the Duke's County Intelligencer with illustrations by Riggs; and Artwork, a set of linoleum block prints by Riggs, most of which are scenes from the Martha's Vineyard/West Tisbury area.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence and published material are arranged chronologically. Prints are in the artist's original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Edison, Thomas A. (Thomas Alva), 1847-1931.
Riggs, Sidney Noyes.

Subjects

Printmakers -- United States.

Places

Martha's Vineyard (Mass.)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Linocuts.

Occupations

Printmakers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sidney Noyes Riggs Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Sidney Noyes Riggs, 1970


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Published material

Artwork


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Mayfield, John S. 1968, 1970 - includes Riggs' explanation of his work with Thomas Edison
Published material
Box 1 Dukes County Intelligencer 1960, 1962
Artwork
Box 1 Linocuts (linoleum block prints) undated - includes itemized list provided by Riggs