Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Riggs Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Oct 1993

Revision history:
10 Dec 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Riggs, Robert, 1896-1970.
Title: Robert Riggs Papers
Dates: 1912-1970
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, illustrator, and lithographer, specializing in circus art and prize-fight lithographs. Sketchbooks (2) labelled "Circus '35" and "Coney"; photographs of Riggs at the circus, in his studio, and miscellaneous portraits and candid shots; and printed material, including articles (1933-1947), and clippings (1912-1970).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Riggs (1896-1970) was an American painter, illustrator, and lithographer.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1912 through 1970, the Robert Riggs Papers comprises artwork, photographs, and printed material relating to the professional career of the American painter, illustrator, and lithographer Documenting his predilection for circus and action subjects, Riggs' Artwork includes two sketchbooks marked "Circus '35" and "Coney," as well as a photograph of his early work. Photographs and printed material constitute Memorabilia. Photographs of Riggs include those at a circus, in his studio, and a number of miscellaneous portraits and candid shots. Printed material includes articles and clippings about Riggs (1912-1970), and an exhibition announcement.


Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically by type and then by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Riggs, Robert, 1896-1970.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Illustrators, United States.
Lithographers, United States.
Painters, United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.
Sketchbooks.

Occupations

Artists.
Illustrators.
Lithographers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Riggs Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert Riggs, 1964.


Table of Contents

Artwork

Memorabilia


Inventory

Artwork
Photograph
Box 1 Early work
Sketchbooks
Box 1 "Circus '35"
Box 1 Coney"
Memorabilia
Photographs of Riggs
Box 1 At circus
Box 1 In studio
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Printed material
Box 1 Articles 1933-1947, undated
Box 1 Clippings 1912-1970, undated
Box 1 Exhibition announcement