Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Gerard Richardson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 5 Nov 2010

Biographical History

Gerard Richardson (1910-1971) was an American naval officer and painter. He was the official U.S. Navy artist during World War II and exited the service with the rank of Captain. Much of his artwork was done by request, on a commission basis; many of his paintings of ships and naval battles are in the holdings of the U.S. Navy Museum.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gerard Richardson Papers consist of correspondence, subject files and printed material. Included in the correspondence are letters on behalf of Winston Churchill and Queen Elizabeth, written by their respective secretaries. Among the subject files is a folder with memorabilia the NC-4 seaplane, including a an article with accompanying photograph of Neil Armstrong viewing Richardson's painting of it.

Arrangement of the Collection



Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Richardson, Gerard.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy -- Officers.


Naval battles in art.
Painters -- United States.
Seafaring life in art.
Seafaring life in art.
Ships in art.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gerard Richardson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Gerard Richardson, 1966, 1967, 1970.

Table of Contents


Subject files

Published material