Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Robert Reynolds Collection Relating to Leopold von Ranke

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Apr 2016

Biographical History

Leopold von Ranke (1795-1886) was a German historian and historiographer. He was highly influential in shaping the modern approach to history, emphasizing such things as reliance on primary sources, narrative history and international politics. He rejected the idea that each era is by definition superior to those that preceded it, as well as the idea of sweeping historical theories that attempt to encompass huge swathes of time and geography.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Reynolds Collection Relating to Leopold von Ranke contains correspondence, memorabilia, and printed material pertaining to Leopold von Ranke. Some correspondence concerns Peter von Blanckenburg, great-great-grandson of Leopold von Ranke. All items dating from before 1970 are copies, not originals.

Arrangement of the Collection



Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Leopold von Ranke Papers.

Subject Headings


Blanckenburg, Peter von.
Ranke, Leopold von, 1795-1886.
Reynolds, Robert.


Authors, German -- 19th century.
Historians -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Reynolds Collection Relating to Leopold von Ranke,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert and Stephanie Reynolds, 2015.

Table of Contents



Printed material