Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joshua Reynolds Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 20 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Joshua Reynolds Collection
Dates: circa 1772
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Fragment with several lines written by English painter Sir Joshua Reynolds, and an engraving of same by J.K. Sherwin.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sir Joshua Reynolds (1723-1792) was an English painter noted for his portraits. He was a founder and first President of the Royal Academy, and was knighted by King George III in 1769.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joshua Reynolds Collection consists of two items. One is an undated fragment containing seven lines, in Reynolds' hand, from his Fifth Discourse, delivered to students at the Royal Academy on December 10, 1772. The other is an undated engraving of Reynolds, annotated in the lower left corner with the name "J. K. Sherwin, sc." J.K. Sherwin was Engraver to His Majesty.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Reynolds, Joshua, Sir, 1723-1792.
Sherwin, J. K. (John Keyse), 1751-1790.

Subjects

Engravers, British.
Painters -- Great Britain.

Genres and Forms

Engravings.
Manuscripts (document genre)

Occupations

Engravers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joshua Reynolds Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1978.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 577 Fifth Discourse, fragment, in Reynolds' hand circa 1772
SC 577 Engraving of Reynolds, by J.K. Sherwin circa 1772