Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gardiner Reynolds Account Book

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Reynolds, Gardiner.
Title: Gardiner Reynolds Account Book
Dates: 1808-1820
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Account book showing income and expenses for a tailor in Wickford, Rhode Island.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Gardiner Reynolds beyond the little that can be inferred from the collection. He was evidently a tailor, and lived in Wickford, Rhode Island.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gardiner Reynolds Account Book consists of a slender handbound volume listing the expenses ("two pecks purtaters") and income ("for cutting three pair of trowses") for the years 1808 to 1820.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single bound volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Reynolds, Gardiner.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- Rhode Island.
Tailors -- Rhode Island -- 19th century.

Places

Rhode Island -- Commerce.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Tailors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gardiner Reynolds Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Financial records


Inventory

Financial records
SC 544 Account book 1808-1820