Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Anita Reschke Collection of Opera Recordings

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Reschke, Anita.
Title: Anita Reschke Collection of Opera Recordings
Dates: 1988-1990
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Personal (i.e. non-commercial) recordings of various opera performances on standard audiocassettes; many are from the Metropolitan Opera but there are also performances from the Bayreuth Festival, Chicago Lyric Opera, London, and the Syracuse Symphony. Also includes a few personal recordings of speakers at Jesuit gatherings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the donor of this material.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anita Reschke Collection of Opera Recordings consists of personal (i.e. non-commercial) recordings of various opera performances on standard audiocassettes. Many of the recordings are from the Metropolitan Opera but there are also performances from the Bayreuth Festival, the Chicago Lyric Opera, the Syracuse Symphony and unspecified performances in London. Many, but not all, of the tapes are annotated with the names of the major performers.

There are also a few recordings of speakers on religious subjects at Jesuit gatherings.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by composer.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.Access to tapes requires advance notice for creation of use copy.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Bayreuther Festspiele.
Lyric Opera of Chicago.
Metropolitan Opera (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Operas -- Sound recordings.
Operas -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anita Reschke Collection of Opera Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Anita Reschke.


Table of Contents

Audiorecordings


Inventory

Audiorecordings
Box 1 Auber, Manon Lescaut undated (2 tapes)
Box 1 Bellini, I Puritani undated (2 tapes)
Box 1 Bellini, Norma undated (2 tapes)
Box 1 Berg, Wozzek 1/6/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 1 Berlioz, Requiem 1987 - Syracuse Symphony
Box 1 Boito, Mefistofele 11/11/1989 (2 tapes)
Box 1 Borodin, Prince Igor 9/16/1989 (2 tapes)
Box 1 Donizetti, Anna Bolena 8/19/1989 (3 tapes)
Box 1 Form for ministry retreat 1984 (7 tapes)
Box 1 Form for ministry retreat Fall 1984 - Fr. Pete Conroy, S.J. (6 tapes; 3 are missing)
Box 1 Gershwin, Porgy and Bess 1/27/90 - Metropolitan Opera (3 tapes)
Box 1 Giordano, Andrea Chenier 9/30/1989 - London (2 tapes)
Box 1 Glass, Satyagraha May 88 - Chicago Opera (2 tapes)
Box 1 Gospel of John, Fr. Richard Rohr
Box 1 Gounod, Faust 3/3/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 1 Haydn, Armida 8/12/1989 (2 tapes)
Box 1 Homily, Bishop Harrison b/w Leoncavallo, Pagliacci 10/7/89
Box 1 Humperdinck, Hansel and Gretel 1988-1989 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 1 Mascagni, Cavalleria Rusticana
Box 1 Meditation and dying, Lawrence Freeman undated (4 tapes, 2 copies each of 2 tapes)
Box 2 Meditation (3 tapes)
Box 2 Montamezzi, L'Amore dei tre re 9/30/1989 (2 tapes)
Box 2 Moussorgsky, Kovanschina 3/26/1988 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Mozart, Apollo et Hyacinthus 8/12/1989
Box 2 Mozart, La Clemenzo di Tito 6/16/1990 - Lyric Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Mozart, Cosi Fan Tutte 1/20/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Mozart, Don Giovanni 6/3/1989 - Lyric Opera of Chicago (2 tapes)
Box 2 Mozart, Don Giovanni 4/14/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Mozart, Die Entfahrung aus dem Serail 3/24/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Mozart, Le Nozze de Figaro 12/31/1988 - Metropolitan Opera (3 tapes)
Box 2 Offenbach, La Perichole 9/23/1989 (2 tapes)
Box 2 Ponchielli, La Gioconda 2/3/1990 (2 tapes)
Box 2 Puccini, La Boheme 3/31/1990
Box 2 Puccini, Edgar 8/5/1989 (2 tapes)
Box 2 Puccini, Manon Lescaut 3/17/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Puccini, Turandot 1/12/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Rachmaninoff, Aleko 9/16/1989
Box 2 Saint-Saens, Samson et Dalila 2/17/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Schoenberg, Gurrelieder 5/31/1989 - Chicago Symphony (2 tapes)
Box 2 Strauss, Die Fledermaus 6/9/1990 - Lyric Opera (2 tapes)
Box 2 Thomas, Mignon 11/25/1989 (3 tapes)
Box 2 Verdi, Aida 1/7/1989 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 3 Verdi, Aida 11/18/1989 (2 tapes)
Box 3 Verdi, Ernani 8/5/1989 (2 tapes)
Box 3 Verdi, La Traviata 2/10/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (2 tapes)
Box 3 Verdi, Il Trovatore 10/7/1989 (2 tapes, tape #1 is missing)
Box 3 Verdi, Il Trovatore undated (2 tapes)
Box 3 Wagner, Parsifal 1989 - Bayreuth Festival (4 tapes)
Box 3 Wagner, Tannhauser 5/20/1989 - Lyric Opera of Chicago (3 tapes)
Box 3 Wagner, Die Walk├╝re 4/7/1990 - Metropolitan Opera (3 tapes)