Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Lenox Remond Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 24 Sep 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Remond, Charles Lenox, 1810-1873.
Title: Charles Lenox Remond Letter
Dates: 1859
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Remond to David Barnet, regarding an unspecified petition
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Lenox Remond (1810-1873) was born in Salem, Massachusetts into a prominent African-American family. His father John had emigrated from the Dutch colony of Curacao in 1798 and owned a successful catering business, while his mother Nancy's father was a Revolutionary War veteran. Both his parents were active abolitionists and Charles followed suit (as did his sister Sarah), speaking on the anti-slavery lecture circuit from an early age. In 1840, he gave a lecture at the World Anti-Slavery Convention in London and in 1842 became the first African-American to address the Massachusetts state legislature to protest racial discrimination on railroads and steamboats; with Frederick Douglass and other black abolitionist activists, he also helped recruit African-American soldiers into the Union Army's all-black Massachusetts 54th Regiment.

[Adapted from the entry "Remond, Charles Lenox (1810-1873)" in BlackPast.org]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Lenox Remond Letter consists of a single letter in Remond's hand, dated 2 Mar 1859.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous manuscript collections relating to abolition and other types of social reform. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. The manuscript collections are supported by an extensive number of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other published materials cataloged in our Rare Books holdings; please searchthe Classic Catalog for these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Remond, Charles Lenox, 1810-1873.

Subjects

Slavery, abolition, and emancipation.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Social reformers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Lenox Remond Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2009.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 336 2 Mar 1859 - to "David H. Barnet"