Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Johanna Reitzer Collection on Albert Schweitzer

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Sep 2013

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Reitzer, Johanna M.
Title: Johanna Reitzer Collection on Albert Schweitzer
Dates: 1949-1975
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft. (1 oversize box)
Abstract: Scrapbook of clippings, correspondence, printed material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965) was a German theologian, philosopher, musician, musicologist, doctor, surgeon, and medical missionary. He is best known for his writings on the historical Jesus and for his medical missionary work in Africa at his hospital in Lambaréné, Gabon, which he operated for more than thirty years.

Johanna Reitzer was a professor of German at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Johanna Reitzer Collection on Albert Schweitzer consists of correspondence and printed material.

Correspondence includes a few letters and postcards from Dr. Schweitzer as well as correspondence with associated organizations such as the Friends of Albert Schweitzer.

Printed material consists of a large scrapbook of clippings and some loose items (reprint of an article, typescript of a speech by Schweitzer, etc.)


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Albert Schweitzer Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Schweitzer, Albert, 1875-1965.

Subjects

Missionaries, Medical.
Missions, Medical -- Gabon -- Lambaréné (Moyen-Ogooué)

Places

Lambaréné (Moyen-Ogooué) -- Gabon.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Reprints.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Missionaries.
Physicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Johanna Reitzer Collection on Albert Schweitzer,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Paul Reitzer, 2013.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Printed material


Inventory

Correspondence
Oversize 1 Schweitzer 1953-1954 - handwritten letters, inscribed postcards/photographs (1 folder)
Oversize 1 Other 1974-1975 - primarily Friends of Albert Schweitzer (1 folder)
Printed material
Oversize 1 Scrapbook 1949-1969 - newspaper, magazine and journal clippings about Schweitzer and his work; a few black and white photographs (1 volume)
Oversize 1 Miscellanous 1949, 1966, 1970 - typescript of lecture by Schweiterz on Goethe; reprint of "Albert Schweitzer: Aus Meinem Lebel"; photocopy of clipping (1 folder)