Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Whitelaw Reid Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Reid, Whitelaw, 1837-1912.
Title: Whitelaw Reid Letters
Dates: 1871-1904
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Four letters from the American newspaper editor and diplomat.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Whitelaw Reid (1837-1912) was an American diplomat (Ambassador to France, 1889-1892, and to England, 1905-1912) and editor of the New York Tribune. He was also the author of a popular history of Ohio in the Civil War.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Whitelaw Reid Letters consists of four letters from Reid. Recipients are Jervis McEntee, John W. Weed, Capt. H. E Rhoades, and a "Mr. Nicholson."


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Reid, Whitelaw, 1837-1912.

Subjects

Journalism -- United States.
Newspaper editors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Newspaper editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Whitelaw Reid Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 543 General 1871, 1878, 1898, 1904