Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thomas B. Reed Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Reed, Thomas B. (Thomas Brackett), 1839-1902.
Title: Thomas B. Reed Correspondence
Dates: 1881-1901
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Eleven letters from the United States congressman from Maine.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas Brackett Reed (1839-1902) of Portland, Cumberland County, Maine, was a Republican lawyer, member of the Maine state legislature (1868-1870) and state attorney general (1870-1872). He served more than twenty years (1877-1899) in the U.S. House of Representatives, during which he was Speaker of the House twice and was a candidate for the Republican nomination for President (1896).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas B. Reed Correspondence consists of eleven letters from the United States Congressman to various individuals. Recipients include E. R. "Ned" Spear and W. O. Fuller, among others. The letters are of a general nature; several relate to invitations to write or speak.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Reed, Thomas B. (Thomas Brackett), 1839-1902.

Subjects

Legislators -- Maine.
Legislators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas B. Reed Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 542 General 1881-1901