Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Reed-Prentice Corporation Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MM
Date: 2006

Revision history:
Feb 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: National Plastics Center & Museum.
Title: Reed-Prentice Corporation Collection
Dates: 1940-1968
Quantity: 3 folders
Abstract: Collection consists of copies of drawings and an instruction book concerning Reed-Prentice Corporation’s 10D-6 & 10D-8 plastic injection molding machine containing parts by Vickers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Reed-Prentice Corporation is a manufacturer of injection molding machines, based in West Springfield, Massachusetts.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Reed-Prentice Corporation Collection consists of copies of drawings and an instruction book concerning Reed-Prentice Corporation’s 10D-6 & 10D-8 plastic injection molding machine containing parts by Vickers.


Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged into series by format.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Reed-Prentice Ltd.
Vickers, Inc.

Subjects

Injection molding of plastics.
Plastics industry and trade.
Plastics machinery.
Technical drawings.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Diagrams.
Die plates.
Manuals (instructional materials)

Occupations

Chemical engineers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Reed-Prentice Corporation Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.


Table of Contents

Printed material

Drawings


Inventory

Printed material
Box 1 Instruction manual for the Reed-Prentice 10D-6 and 10D-8 plastic injection molding machine
Box 1 Vickers, Inc. brochures, 1948-1968 (2 items)
Box 1 Brochure for Reed-Prentice Plastic Injection Molding Machines, including 10D 6-8 oz. 1940
Drawings
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Wiring diagram for 10A & 10D Plastic Machine 1942-1944; copy stamped 1951 22 x28.5"
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Wiring diagram for 10A 2/4 & 10D 6/8 Thermoplastic machine 1941 22 x 34.5"
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Wiring diagram 1945 28 x 38"
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Hydraulic circuit for 10D 8 plastic injection mold machine 1953 18 x 24"
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Wiring diagram auto control panel with sliding safety drawer on 10D 6 & 8 Thermoplastic Machine 1940, copy stamp 1952 17 x 22"
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 [unlabelled] 14 x 22"
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Movable die plate thrust shoe, links & die plates used on Thermoplastic Machine 10A 2-4 & 10D 6-8 1941-1944 11 x 17.5"
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Front link thrust shoe on links & die plates for 10A 2-4, 10D 6-8 plastic machine 1942-1944 9 x 10.5"
Map-Case 1, Drawer 97 Front link thrust shoe on links & die plates for 10A 2-4, 10D 6-8 plastic machine 1941-1944 8.5 x 11"