Collection inventory


Finding Aids

S. R. Rathbun Account Book

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rathbun, Samuel R.
Title: S. R. Rathbun Account Book
Dates: 1865-1888
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Account book for S. R. Rathbun, manufacturing agent for the Auburn Woolen Company
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of S. R. Rathbun. According to Brigham's General Directory of Auburn, Weedsport, Port Byron, Union Springs, Aurora, Moravia and Cayuga, and Business Directory of Auburn (Wm. J. Moses, 1863), p. 50:

The Auburn Woolen Company was organized as a corporation in 1846...In 1853...[it was] sold to private individuals, and after passing through several hands, in February 1863, again became the property of a corporation, of which C. N. Fearing is President, William Gray Wise, Treasurer, and S. R. Rathbun, manufacturing agent.

On page 69, the Auburn Directory section of the same volume gives his name as Samuel R. Rathbun. His obituary appeared (possibly in the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle) on August 9, 1888.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The S. R. Rathbun Account Book consists of a single large volume, listing income and expenses for the years 1865 to 1888. Payments from Auburn Woolen Company are listed regularly (e.g. "for six months services"). Other line items include "Church expenses," "Female apparel," and payments to S. R. Rathbun and F. R. Rathbun. Banks (Cayuga Co. Bank, Auburn Savings Institution, Burlington Savings Bank, and others), insurance payments, and taxes appear regularly.

Laid in on the first page is a single sheet, detailing an agreement between Augustus Dow and Reuben Rockwell regarding Dow's sale of his house to Rockwell. The document is dated 1838.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rathbun, Samuel R.

Corporate Bodies

Auburn Woolen Co.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- Auburn (N.Y.) -- 19th century.
Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- 19th century.

Places

Auburn (N.Y.) -- History.
New York (State) -- Business enterprises.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

S. R. Rathbun Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Financial records


Inventory

Financial records
SC 545 Account book 1865-1888