Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Fannie Ratchford Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Feb 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ratchford, Fannie Elizabeth, 1888-
Title: Fannie Ratchford Papers
Dates: circa 1880-1930
Quantity: unprocessed
Abstract: Rresearch notes and other materials collected by American librarian and scholar Fannie Elizabeth Ratchford, most pertaining to British author and poet Sir Edmund Gosse and to book collector and forger Thomas J. Wise.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Fannie Ratchford (1887-1974) was an American librarian and scholar. From 1919 until her retirement in 1957, Miss Ratchford was associated with the rare book collections at the Wrenn Library at the University of Texas. Beginning as a library assistant, she was later Wrenn librarian, rare book librarian, curator of rare books and lecturer in bibliography, and curator of rare books and director of research in rare book bibliography. The Wrenn Library was originally the private library of book collector John Henry Wrenn, who acquired many items from book collector and forger Thomas J. Wise; as a result the Wrenn Library contains numerous examples of Wise's spurious or altered books, pamphlets and manuscripts.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Fannie Ratchford Papers consists of research notes and other materials collected by American librarian and scholar Fannie Elizabeth Ratchford, most pertaining to British author and poet Sir Edmund Gosse and to book collector and forger Thomas J. Wise, including correspondence with book collector John Henry Wrenn.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Gosse, Edmund, 1849-1928.
Ratchford, Fannie Elizabeth, 1888-
Wise, Thomas James, 1859-1937.
Wrenn, John Henry, 1841-1911.

Subjects

Bibliographers -- England.
Book collectors -- England.
Forgers -- England.
Poets, English.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Research notes.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Fannie Ratchford Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mildred Christian estate, 1986.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.