Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Leopold von Ranke Manuscript Collection

An inventory of at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
12 Mar 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)
27 Feb 2012 updated (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ranke, Leopold von, 1795-1886.
Title: Leopold von Ranke Manuscript Collection
Dates: circa 1500-1900
Quantity: 37.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection amassed by German historian Leopold von Ranke. Collection consists of 104 bound manuscripts and 326 unbound manuscripts or parts of manuscripts. The largest single type consists of Venetian ambassadors' reports from the various capitals of Europe. There are also several Venetian chronicles, nuncios' reports to the pope, political documents from Tuscany, and a chronicle of Nuremberg.
Language: English, Italian, German, French, Latin
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Leopold von Ranke (1795-1886) was a German historian and historiographer. He was highly influential in shaping the modern approach to history, emphasizing such things as reliance on primary sources, narrative history and international politics. He rejected the idea that each era is by definition superior to those that preceded it, as well as the idea of sweeping historical theories that attempt to encompass huge swathes of time and geography.

Ranke's personal and professional library, consisting of more than 10,000 books, several hundred manuscripts and approximately 5 linear ft. of personal papers, was purchased for Syracuse University in 1887 and formed the nucleus of what is now the Syracuse University Special Collections Research Center (SCRC).

Theodor Weidemann, whose bibliographic aids about the manuscripts are also included in the collection, was Ranke's amanuensis for the last fifteen years of his life.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leopold von Ranke Manuscript Collection consists of 104 bound manuscripts and 326 unbound manuscripts or parts of manuscripts. The largest single type consists of Venetian ambassadors' reports from the various capitals of Europe. There are also several Venetian chronicles, nuncios' reports to the pope, political documents from Tuscany, and a chronicle of Nuremberg.

The collection also contains research and reference material of various kinds about Ranke's library in general and about the manuscripts in particular. The bulk of this consists of extensive bibliographical notes compiled by Theodor Weidemann, Ranke's amanuensis for the last fifteen years of his life.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Other Related Finding Aids

A comprehensive catalog of the manuscript collection is available: The Leopold von Ranke manuscript collection of Syracuse University : the complete catalogue, by Edward Muir (Syracuse University Press, 1983).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Manuscripts are also available on microfilm.

The personal and professional library of Leopold von Ranke, consisting of more than 10,000 books, several hundred manuscripts and approximately 5 linear ft. of personal papers, was purchased for Syracuse University in 1887 and formed the nucleus of what is now the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) at Syracuse University.

The manuscripts, containing items in numerous languages dating back to the 16th century, comprise this, the Leopold von Ranke Manuscript Collection.

The personal and family papers, along with some bibliographic material about Ranke's library, constitute the Leopold von Ranke Papers.

The more than 10,000 volumes of Ranke's personal library, containing many works on historical, political and literary subjects dating from the 16th to 19th centuries and in numerous European languages, have been transfered to Rare Books for cataloging. They are accessible via the Classic Catalog .


Subject Headings

Persons

Ranke, Leopold von, 1795-1886.

Corporate Bodies

Catholic Church -- Foreign relations -- 16th century.
Catholic Church -- Foreign relations -- 17th century.
Catholic Church -- Foreign relations -- 18th century.
Catholic Church -- History -- 16th century.
Catholic Church -- History -- 17th century.
Catholic Church -- History -- 18th century.
Jesuits -- History -- 17th century.
Jesuits -- Missions.

Subjects

Church history -- Middle Ages, 600-1500.
Manuscripts, Italian.
Papacy -- History.

Places

Austria -- Diplomatic history.
France -- Diplomatic history.
Italy -- Diplomatic history.
Savoy (France and Italy) -- Diplomatic history.
Spain -- Diplomatic history.
Turkey -- Diplomatic history.
Urbino (Italy) -- Diplomatic history.
Venice (Italy) -- Diplomatic history.
Vienna (Austria) -- Diplomatic history.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Dispatches.
Government records.
Histories.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Official reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leopold von Ranke Manuscript Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1887.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts

Research/reference material


Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Manuscripts are also available on microfilm.

Manuscripts
Manuscripts 1 through 430
All manuscripts have been cataloged and are accessible via the Classic Catalog . Please search on "Ranke" or "Ranke manuscript" to locate these items.
Research/reference material
Box 1 Muir, Edward photocopies of descriptions of each manuscript in the collection, taken from The Leopold von Ranke manuscript collection of Syracuse University : the complete catalogue, by Edward Muir (Syracuse University Press, 1983 - ).
Weidemann, Theodor, "Erläuterung" [explanatory notes]
See also the Leopold von Ranke Papers for additional Weidemann bibliographic aids relating to Ranke's library as a whole.
Box 2 Notes on Manuscripts 1-46
Box 3 Notes on Manuscripts 47-92
Box 4 Notes on Manuscripts 93-213
Box 5 Notes on Manuscripts 214-314
Box 6 Notes on Manuscripts 315-429