Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Emanuel Rackman Manuscripts

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 May 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Rackman, Emanuel.
Title: Emanuel Rackman Manuscripts
Dates: before 1967
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Typescript and handwritten manuscript by the Jewish scholar and theologian.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Rabbi Emanual (Menachim) Rackman (1920-2008) was an American Jewish scholar and theologian. For twenty years he served as Rabbi at Congregation Shaarey Tefila, then in Far Rockaway, Queens, and then at the prominent Fifth Avenue Synagogue in Manhattan. He wasd an outspoken advocate of a more inclusive, intellectually open Orthodox Judaism, including supporting the right of agunot (women whose husbands will not or cannot grant them an official bill of divorce, known as a get) to remarry.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Emanuel Rackman Manuscripts consist of four manuscripts, essays on topics relating to Judaism. Three are typescripts and the fourth is a handwritten version of one of the typed ones.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Rackman, Emanuel.

Subjects

Cohanim.
Jewish scholars.
Jewish socialists.
Judaism -- History.
Judaism -- Liturgy.
Orthodox Judaism.
Rabbis -- New York (State)
Siddur.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Rabbis.
Theologians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Emanuel Rackman Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1967. Probably gift of Rabbi Rackman.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 661 [untitled, on the Kohanim and Leviim]
SC 661 The architectonics of the Siddur
SC 661 Jewish values, Jewish authors, and days of awe - one typescript, one handwritten (2 copies)