Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William F. Raborn Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MPK
Date: 21 Nov 1978

Revision history:
25 Apr 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Raborn, William F., 1905-1990.
Title: William F. Raborn Papers
Dates: 1916-1963
Quantity: 8.0 linear ft.
Abstract: U.S. naval officer, Admiral. Collection contains correspondence (1945-1963); speeches, calendars (1961-1962), photographs, scrapbooks, and audio tapes.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William F. Raborn, Jr. (1905-1990) was a career military officer, a Navy vice admiral who led the development of the Polaris nuclear missile in the 1950s and later headed the Central Intelligence Agency under President Lyndon B. Johnson.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William F. Raborn Papers consist of correspondence, general files, personal files and memorabilia. Correspondence is made up of such communiques as sympathy letters, orders, and letters of congratulation. General files consists of material relating to Raborn's Navy career. Personal files is made up of non-career material. Memorabilia contains awards, photographs, tape recordings, and a navigation instrument.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. All other material is arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Raborn, William F., 1905-1990.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy -- History.
United States. -- Navy -- Officers.

Subjects

Admirals -- United States.

Places

United States -- History, Naval -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches.

Occupations

Admirals.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William F. Raborn Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

General files

Personal files

Memorabilia


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Personal 1945-1963 (9 folders)
Box 1 Orders 1951-1963
Box 1 Polaris missile firing 1960
Box 1 Vice Admiral appointment 1960
Box 1 Condolence letters 1954, 1962
General files
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Box 1 Electronics
Box 1 Flag officers
Box 1 Interviews
Box 1 Polaris
Box 1 Program Evaluation and Review Technique (PERT)
Box 1 Research and development
Box 2 Speeches (3 folders)
Personal files
Box 2 Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 2 Captain William F. Raborn, Jr. (2 folders)
Memorabilia
Oversize 5 Art reproduction
Box 2 Awards, engagements
Oversize 5 Awards, oversize
Books
Box 2 Bible
Box 2 Daily engagement books 1961-1962
Box 2 Engineering Mark's Handbook 1916
Box 2 Flight book (aviator's) (3 volumes)
Box 3 Speaking engagements book 1962
Box 3 Button
Oversize 5 Cartoons
Box 3 Inspector's notebook and papers
Oversize 5 Letter
Box 3 Miscellaneous printed material
Oversize 3 Miscellaneous printed material
Box 3 Navigation instrument
Box 3 Patch
Box 3 Sash
Box 3 Scrapbooks (3 volumes)
Oversize 4 Scrapbooks, oversize
Photographic material
Oversize 1 Color transparencies
Box 4 Photographs
Oversize 2 Photographs
Oversize 3 Photographs
Oversize 4 Photographs
Oversize 5 Photographs
Box 4 Negatives
Box 4 Plates
Box 4 Slides (3 boxes)
Box 4 Films, 16mm (2 rolls)
Recordings
Box 4 Discs (8 items)
Box 4 Tapes (12 reels)
Box 5 Tapes (39 reels)
Box 6 Films, miscellaneous (4 reels)