Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Queen Victoria Letter

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Victoria, Queen of Great Britain, 1819-1901.
Title: Queen Victoria Letter
Dates: 1866
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter (in the third person) from Queen Victoria to George Peabody, merchant and philanthoropist, thanking him for his giftof $2.5 million to be used for housing for the poor in London.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Peabody (1795-1869) of was an American businessman and philanthropist from Boston, Massachusetts. He gave generously to numerous social causes such as libraries, education, housing for the poor, and founded the Peabody Institute.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Queen Victoria Letter consists of a letter (in the third person) from Queen Victoria to George Peabody of Boston, thanking him for his gift of $2.5 million to be used for model housing for London's working poor. The Queen later offered Peabody a baronetcy or the Grand Cross of the Order of the Bath, both of which he declined.

Although the letter appears to be dated 1886, as Peabody died in 1869 it is more likely the date is 1866.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Peabody, George, 1795-1869.
Victoria, Queen of Great Britain, 1819-1901.

Subjects

Humanitarianism -- United Kingdom.
Humanitarianism -- United States.
Merchants -- United States.
Philanthropists -- United States.
Urban poor -- Housing -- United Kingdom.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Philanthropists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Queen Victoria Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1970.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 620 to Peabody, George 1866